Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband (Vietnam Vet) was craving SOS one night so I searched and found this recipe. Here's what I did to "spice it up". I added about twice as much worchestershire and several shakes of Tabasco sauce, and I added it after browning the flour and before adding anything else. "cooked in it" before continuing. Also, I highly recommend using "Better than Bullion" brand reduction. It's sooooo yummy and really adds a strong beefy taste. I make this a lot and serve it over plain old Pillsubry biscuits from the exploding can. DH LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made exactly as listed for 9 servings. 9 & 12 yr old ate it up. 17 yr old...well she would rather just have gravy. I loved it.. Reminded me back to my childhood..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmL
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very bland as writen, follow the many tips found in the reviews and you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IsisMyCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Pretty good. my son ate almost all of his which is really good for him. I added a chopped onion and garlic powder plus more of the whitshire. I put it on mashed potatoes cux i didnt have egg noodles. Plus bf thought it was great!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hislittlebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Followed recipe with the suggested additions of onion and garlic, I also had some ground sausage on hand with a couple of shakes of Cayenne. As a joke when I asked the Hubby what he wanted for dinner tonight he said SOS, well he's getting SOMP (Mashed potatoes)! YUM! I haven't had this since I was a child. It sure looks the same, I think the garlic and Onion make it smell and taste better! Thank You for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
A nice basic that needs a bit more to it. I added garlic, onion and other seasoning to bring it to a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
pretty good i agree with everybody else on putting some spices and onions, etc. in it, but even by itself its still pretty good very versatile. i will def. use this again, my husband really liked it!! thats always a plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is very similar to what an Air Force cook showed me back in 1975 when they had real enlisted cooks and not contractors who don't have a clue how to make this very traditional dish. The only difference was that she added a very small diced onion just as the beef was turning brown and didn't use bouillon. I still make this today, but I drain the beef if there is a lot of grease and add butter before adding the flour. It's yummy, and great over homemade breakfast potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
So easy, nice and PLAIN. Didn't have any regular milk in the house so I used the bullion and just made broth. Worked just fine for brown gravy. Served on top of grilled sourdough. Even my picky three year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Omit the Worcestershire sauce and substitute garlic, then switch the beef bouillon to chicken broth, and this recipe is quickly changed to a great stroganaff as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States