Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
i haven't made something like this in a long time. i really enjoyed it and my picky 7yr old liked it (my toddler wouldn't try it) anyway yes its a bit bland but its one of those "adapt to taste" recipe. I'd saute some onions but i know my kids wouldn't eat it if they saw them in their food. so i added onion powder and a bit of garlic powder and a bit more salt. I used fat free milk around 1 3/4 cups just got it to the right consistency and left out the worcestershire..never liked the stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is one of my family's favorites and definitely a go to recipe when I'm not really in the mood to cook. I've been making it for years and I make it this same way except that I add onion. We usually have it over mashed potatoes instead of toast or biscuits. My husband likes to top his with corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Pretty good! I seasoned the beef with garlic and onion powder as other reviewers had suggested and it worked out well. My 3 year old even ate it! Anything she eats, I keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
It's SOS-- nothing exciting, but a hearty and kid-friendly meal. I added chopped onion and substituted 1/2 c. sour cream for part of the milk. The family ate it all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Very good. Would add an extra boullion cube for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Perfect comfort food. I remember eating this growing up in the 60's. Would never serve this except on mashed potatoes. If using chipped beef, toast is the best. I did as others and added onion and garlic to the beef while cooking. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Super easy and my kid loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I cooked SOS almost daily in the Army and I can tell you, the beef bouillon and the Worcestershire sauce have got to go. They do not add to, but only take away from true Army style SOS. In place of using those two items use garlic powder and when browning the ground beef of at least 80/20% lean to fat add 1/2 cup chopped onions. Please have a bottle of hot sauce on the table for your dinners to further their military tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oscar Betournay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
It's great! Just pour the grease off and add garlic powder and minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! It's just one of those weeks when money is low and there isn't much left in the fridge/ freezer. I needed something fast, easy, cheap but would taste good too. This was great. I think I'll try adding mushrooms next time the ole' budget allows. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*~Jami~*~

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States