Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I really liked this recipe. Although I knew it would be on the bland side, I added these options to it and it was grand! :) 1 tablespoon worchester sauce 1 whole yellow onion chopped 2 teaspoons garlic salt 1 teaspoon onion salt 1 heaping tablespoon minced garlic 1 heaping tablespoon of Knorr beef Boulion I didnt add garlic to hamburger untill the last 20 seconds of browning. And I added the worchester sauce to the milk. Mixed Knorr beef Bouilion into flour misxture. Instead of bread, I used penne pasta, and had fried okra on the side. All I needed was a trench and a canteen! Just kidding! Delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I would make this again. It's easy and cheap. After reading the reviews, here's what I did differently: Added chopped onion. pressed garlic and sliced mushrooms while browning meat. Used 1 bouillion cube and 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. Everything else was the same. Oh, I did just keep adding worchestershire sauce to taste. This dish was certainly thick enough to serve over toast or biscuits this way. I served mine with mashed potatoes and peas however. It's just what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
As many have commented the recipe as written is going to be bland.(Sorry Suzanne). To make this recipe a FIVE star try the following. As the meat is browning I add both garlic and onion powder, about a teaspoon of each to 1 lb, as well as the other seasoning. Be carefull with the salt however because beef bullion tends to be salty. I substitute a pinch of celery seed for the worcestershire sauce. I don't want the "batch" to be to brwn. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This was much better than just hamburger gravy. It's a fast and simple recipe and most people have all the ingredients on hand. The kids loved it! It's better if you cook the beef with the flour coated on it long enough for the flour to brown a little. This will become an easy staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I have never cared for the taste of plain, unseasoned ground beef, so I liberally seasoned the browning beef with garlic powder, Lawry's season salt and pepper. I also added a half an onion, diced, to the beef. I really didn't measure the Worchestershire sauce, just let some bobble on out of the bottle, but I'm sure it was more than 1/4 teaspoon. I also added a cup of frozen peas with the milk. I served this over refrigerated jumbo whomp biscuits from a cardboard can. Very comforting and good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I didn't feel like cooking all night so I decided to try this recipe. It was fast, simple, and very fulfilling. I added a medium sized onion, a clove of garlic, and 5 large mushrooms. I served it over rice and it was just fantastic!! It is a real keeper. I will surely make it again. Thank you very much for the submission Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This is a good recipe. I personally have tried a package of AU Jus,fresh mushrooms, garlic and chopped onions and when making this. Mix the Au Jus in about 1 cup of hot water and add to ingredients.This will give it a richer flavor.We love it over mashed potatoes !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Pretty good and easy although DH did not care for it. Definately needs more spice if you like more flavor. Next time I'll dice some onions and mushrooms and saute the mushrooms while the ground beef is cooking. I topped mine with Mrs. Dash and a tiny bit of Lawry's Seasoned Salt and it was great! Definately not something for someone who bases tastes on looks (that's my husband! He turned up his nose and took one bite and said "I don't like it"). I think kids would like it...my 1 yr old seemed to. Give this one a try and spice it up...quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I loved this recipe! Even though I was out of the worcestershire sauce it still turned out great. I added an extra boullion cube to make up for it. In the future, I'm going to try adding sour cream or maybe cream cheese...maybe even mushrooms. A very good, basic recipe that has infinite possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2000
Quick to make and tasty. A lifesaver on busy evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States