Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is very similar to what an Air Force cook showed me back in 1975 when they had real enlisted cooks and not contractors who don't have a clue how to make this very traditional dish. The only difference was that she added a very small diced onion just as the beef was turning brown and didn't use bouillon. I still make this today, but I drain the beef if there is a lot of grease and add butter before adding the flour. It's yummy, and great over homemade breakfast potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
So easy, nice and PLAIN. Didn't have any regular milk in the house so I used the bullion and just made broth. Worked just fine for brown gravy. Served on top of grilled sourdough. Even my picky three year old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Omit the Worcestershire sauce and substitute garlic, then switch the beef bouillon to chicken broth, and this recipe is quickly changed to a great stroganaff as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Quick and easy, my kids eat it all every time without changing a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Decent and quick. Family all enjoyed the meal. However, it was bland with only Worcestershire Sauce and S&P. I omitted the salt as the bouillon had enough of its own. Next time I'm adding some nicely browned mushrooms and onions. Will definitely make again with some modifications. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Perfect as written. Just as my Daddy used to make...even my picky eater loved it. Oh and we don't eat alot of red meat so I made this with ground turkey. My soldier loves it...making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
i haven't made something like this in a long time. i really enjoyed it and my picky 7yr old liked it (my toddler wouldn't try it) anyway yes its a bit bland but its one of those "adapt to taste" recipe. I'd saute some onions but i know my kids wouldn't eat it if they saw them in their food. so i added onion powder and a bit of garlic powder and a bit more salt. I used fat free milk around 1 3/4 cups just got it to the right consistency and left out the worcestershire..never liked the stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is one of my family's favorites and definitely a go to recipe when I'm not really in the mood to cook. I've been making it for years and I make it this same way except that I add onion. We usually have it over mashed potatoes instead of toast or biscuits. My husband likes to top his with corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Pretty good! I seasoned the beef with garlic and onion powder as other reviewers had suggested and it worked out well. My 3 year old even ate it! Anything she eats, I keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
It's SOS-- nothing exciting, but a hearty and kid-friendly meal. I added chopped onion and substituted 1/2 c. sour cream for part of the milk. The family ate it all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States