Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because my very picky 10-year-old daughter loves this. I followed the reciped exactly and it turned out delicious. This will certainly become a staple in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I grew up on this recipe, as my father was in the military. It has always been a favorite for me. My husband grew up with it too, and his version is really good. He browns the ground beef longer than normal, so it seems to take on more flavor. He's also very liberal with the seasonings--garlic salt, seasoning salt (I know, it's a lot of salt) and pepper. He also always includes diced onion and of course the worcestershire. I love it served over toast, and he likes it over potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Always better with some garlic added. Most raters miss the point that this (at least in the Army I served in for 24 years) is a breakfast item. Pour the SOS over a pile of hashbrowns, then put a couple of over-easy eggs on top of that. Cut through it all with a knife so the runny yokes, SOS and hashbrowns are mixed. Then wolf it down along with some strong black coffee. That is a breakfast to help you face the day. For additional authenticity, eat outside, standing up, in the dark, on a cold morning, while whiffing deisel fumes from a nearby truck. Ah, the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
For what this is, it's fantastic. Quick and simple. Definitely add onions and fresh garlic. Consistancy is perfect. Heck of a lot better than in the box "hamburger assistant". As stated by other reviewers, this recipe can be built on....but then would it really be SOS? Thanks Mary 48! Do what you love and love what you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
It looks so gross... but it is sooooooo good! My kid loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe that you can add ingredients to suit your own taste. I added garlic salt, garlic, onion powder, ground sage, lots of pepper, green beans, corn & small pasta shells. Kids loved it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
My husband (Vietnam Vet) was craving SOS one night so I searched and found this recipe. Here's what I did to "spice it up". I added about twice as much worchestershire and several shakes of Tabasco sauce, and I added it after browning the flour and before adding anything else. "cooked in it" before continuing. Also, I highly recommend using "Better than Bullion" brand reduction. It's sooooo yummy and really adds a strong beefy taste. I make this a lot and serve it over plain old Pillsubry biscuits from the exploding can. DH LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made exactly as listed for 9 servings. 9 & 12 yr old ate it up. 17 yr old...well she would rather just have gravy. I loved it.. Reminded me back to my childhood..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmL
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Very bland as writen, follow the many tips found in the reviews and you've got a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IsisMyCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Pretty good. my son ate almost all of his which is really good for him. I added a chopped onion and garlic powder plus more of the whitshire. I put it on mashed potatoes cux i didnt have egg noodles. Plus bf thought it was great!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hislittlebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 736) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States