Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Yummy, simple! AIRBORNE-CHEF's additions of garlic powder & onion powder & reducing salt = very good advice. I dashed some paprika on mine before serving. Wholesome and hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I was thinking that this recipe done exactly as listed would be a bit bland. I used only a half pound of beef, and cut the ingredients in half, too except for the bouillon cube. I still used a whole one. I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce but I substituted with a quick sprinkle of soy sauce. I added some garlic salt, diced onions, tiny bit of onion powder, pepper, and dill weed. The whole thing came out marvelous!!! If the original recipe had more spices, this would definitely be a 5 star rating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was good. I added garlic and onion and it was a little bland as others mentioned. Even so I would make this again. I served it with egg noodles and everyone ate without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this years ago after getting it from this site and totally forgot what it was called! Found it again and after adding, peppers, onions, mushrooms, garlic, and a little spice, it was very tasty and filling over mashed potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
GREAT basic recipe. Very easy to change to suit your family's taste buds. Quick and easy to fix, too. Will definately be adding this to our monthly menu!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Make this tonight with hamburger and sausage used beef onion mix for extra flavor kids loved it and so did we had it over mini pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because my very picky 10-year-old daughter loves this. I followed the reciped exactly and it turned out delicious. This will certainly become a staple in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I grew up on this recipe, as my father was in the military. It has always been a favorite for me. My husband grew up with it too, and his version is really good. He browns the ground beef longer than normal, so it seems to take on more flavor. He's also very liberal with the seasonings--garlic salt, seasoning salt (I know, it's a lot of salt) and pepper. He also always includes diced onion and of course the worcestershire. I love it served over toast, and he likes it over potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Always better with some garlic added. Most raters miss the point that this (at least in the Army I served in for 24 years) is a breakfast item. Pour the SOS over a pile of hashbrowns, then put a couple of over-easy eggs on top of that. Cut through it all with a knife so the runny yokes, SOS and hashbrowns are mixed. Then wolf it down along with some strong black coffee. That is a breakfast to help you face the day. For additional authenticity, eat outside, standing up, in the dark, on a cold morning, while whiffing deisel fumes from a nearby truck. Ah, the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
For what this is, it's fantastic. Quick and simple. Definitely add onions and fresh garlic. Consistancy is perfect. Heck of a lot better than in the box "hamburger assistant". As stated by other reviewers, this recipe can be built on....but then would it really be SOS? Thanks Mary 48! Do what you love and love what you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 732) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States