Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was good. I added garlic and onion and it was a little bland as others mentioned. Even so I would make this again. I served it with egg noodles and everyone ate without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this years ago after getting it from this site and totally forgot what it was called! Found it again and after adding, peppers, onions, mushrooms, garlic, and a little spice, it was very tasty and filling over mashed potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
GREAT basic recipe. Very easy to change to suit your family's taste buds. Quick and easy to fix, too. Will definately be adding this to our monthly menu!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Make this tonight with hamburger and sausage used beef onion mix for extra flavor kids loved it and so did we had it over mini pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have to give this 5 stars because my very picky 10-year-old daughter loves this. I followed the reciped exactly and it turned out delicious. This will certainly become a staple in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I grew up on this recipe, as my father was in the military. It has always been a favorite for me. My husband grew up with it too, and his version is really good. He browns the ground beef longer than normal, so it seems to take on more flavor. He's also very liberal with the seasonings--garlic salt, seasoning salt (I know, it's a lot of salt) and pepper. He also always includes diced onion and of course the worcestershire. I love it served over toast, and he likes it over potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Always better with some garlic added. Most raters miss the point that this (at least in the Army I served in for 24 years) is a breakfast item. Pour the SOS over a pile of hashbrowns, then put a couple of over-easy eggs on top of that. Cut through it all with a knife so the runny yokes, SOS and hashbrowns are mixed. Then wolf it down along with some strong black coffee. That is a breakfast to help you face the day. For additional authenticity, eat outside, standing up, in the dark, on a cold morning, while whiffing deisel fumes from a nearby truck. Ah, the memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
For what this is, it's fantastic. Quick and simple. Definitely add onions and fresh garlic. Consistancy is perfect. Heck of a lot better than in the box "hamburger assistant". As stated by other reviewers, this recipe can be built on....but then would it really be SOS? Thanks Mary 48! Do what you love and love what you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
It looks so gross... but it is sooooooo good! My kid loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great recipe that you can add ingredients to suit your own taste. I added garlic salt, garlic, onion powder, ground sage, lots of pepper, green beans, corn & small pasta shells. Kids loved it too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States