Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
one of my favorites, so simple, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was GREAT!! Easy, fast, and simple. Served it over egg noodles. Used basically what Cody added to it to give it flavor, but I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and not as much milk. It turned out amazing in about 20 minutes start to finish, and cost me about $9 dollars to make. Can't really tell how much of each ingredient I used cause I'm kinda a flavor to taste kinda guy. Just use Cody's recommended ingredients and that can of soup and season to taste. You could literally feed an army with this also. Enjoy!! I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was pretty good. My family liked it. Like others commented, ground beef tends to be bland so extra seasoning is a must. I sautéed a whole small onion with salt and pepper and 2 cilantro bouillon. I added 2 pound ground beef since that's what I had. Seasoned again with a little more salt and pepper. I brown my meat on medium heat and not stir very much. I find if I brown it higher than that and stir to much, the meat tends to toughen. It does take a bit longer to cook but worth the wait. Once browned, I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and let it cook 1-2 minutes. I used 1/2 cup flour since I had 2 lb meat. I was able to use the same amount of liquid measurements the recipe calls for (2 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce). It was the perfect amount even though I had more meat. I served over white jasmine rice. Nice quick dish for a weeknight meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My mom used to serve this to us for breakfast on toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is good but I also used cream of chicken soup and mushrooms. It can be made in 15 minutes or less!Brown the meat, add seasoning and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. I used to eat this in Boot camp in Parris Island, and in Camp Lejeune, and in Camp Pendleton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
To all you "foodies" trying to add something so this isn't so bland, forget it! This recipe has a history. Legend has it that SOS was first served in France during WW1. Originally, it was Boeuf a la sauce d' Argonne which had been prepared for the officers' mess, but with the impending battle no one was eating. The Marines were moving fast and outpacing the field kitchens. It was Army cooks who came up with the idea to fire up their field stoves and get hot chow to Marines advancing along the eastern front. Slap a spoonful on a stale slice of white bread and enjoy. PS the Marine version is better! (of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Better than I had in the Navy by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Constantine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tried adding garlic and onion powder but still found this recipe bland. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I was surprised I liked this so much. My husband loved it. It reminded us of a quick and easy beef stroganoff. I added a chopped medium onion, a few minced garlic cloves and a bit of rosemary. I also used 3 beef bouillon cubes instead of 1 and was much more generous with the Worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuphsstuff
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States