Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is good but I also used cream of chicken soup and mushrooms. It can be made in 15 minutes or less!Brown the meat, add seasoning and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love this recipe. I used to eat this in Boot camp in Parris Island, and in Camp Lejeune, and in Camp Pendleton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
To all you "foodies" trying to add something so this isn't so bland, forget it! This recipe has a history. Legend has it that SOS was first served in France during WW1. Originally, it was Boeuf a la sauce d' Argonne which had been prepared for the officers' mess, but with the impending battle no one was eating. The Marines were moving fast and outpacing the field kitchens. It was Army cooks who came up with the idea to fire up their field stoves and get hot chow to Marines advancing along the eastern front. Slap a spoonful on a stale slice of white bread and enjoy. PS the Marine version is better! (of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Better than I had in the Navy by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Constantine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tried adding garlic and onion powder but still found this recipe bland. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I was surprised I liked this so much. My husband loved it. It reminded us of a quick and easy beef stroganoff. I added a chopped medium onion, a few minced garlic cloves and a bit of rosemary. I also used 3 beef bouillon cubes instead of 1 and was much more generous with the Worchestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuphsstuff
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I added one pkg Beef Onion Lipton Soup packets. Without it its VERY bland. I added onions as well and skimmed down the milk. Its a good foundation but needs some zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Skip the beef bouillon and add a can or two of Campbell's Beefy Mushroom soup to this recipe. You will taste the difference, really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Absolutely love this simple quick recipe!!! I made it to go on top of Au Gratin cheesy potatoes or biscuits, with spinach and green beans. My family loves the simple foods. So this recipe fit the bill perfectly. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Im giving this 5 stars because it is the basic way to make SOS those who are complaining that it is on the BLAND side keep in mind a recipe of this nature is NOT meant to be perfect on flavor (although in my opinion this one does not lack there) this type of recipe is designed to feed the masses, large groups of people, or families on a budget and need a filling meal. THIS is what it is. If you need more flavor may I suggest salt and pepper to taste. Chop up a RED ONION take a can of peas drain it and add it to the mix.... I have fond memories of the type of dish this is, Growing up with a divorced mom she always made sure the kids were not only fed but full. This SOS kind of dish was one of my favorites served on top of toast> Let me tell you if there was a way to make ends meet in the kitchen my mom could do it. Thank you for posting this recipe and taking me back to my mothers home cooked gotta feed the kids kind of cooking. I had her recipe but sadly lost it, this one was very close to hers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States