Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I add some seasonings to this, but my purpose in using this recipe is because I love to have canned hamburger on hand for those quick nights where I need supper fast, and have some homemade bread to get used up. This is the perfect way to make something fast, and reminds me of my grandma's SOS when I was young. Thanks for reminding me of this recipe and for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I read most of the reviews before making this recipe. I added fresh garlic, onion & fresh parsley & skipped the bouillon. Used 2 cups of milk & blended the flour in the milk. Served over egg noodles. My husband told me this was a "keeper" after the first bite. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I gave this 5 stars because it lived up to what was expected. As already stated....doctor it up to your families taste and you have a fast, easy, tasty, simply wonderful dish. I added onion, garlic and corn.....wonderful! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Just perfect, and easy after work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stabe01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Perfect for a quick, easy meal that doesn't break the bank. Per other reviews I added some garlic salt and onion powder to give a little more taste. Came out great. We served over egg noodles. Thanks Mary48!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Good recipe. I am sure Worcestershire sauce was not available in the Army when they got to eat this, but it adds flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morenci, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was great! My USMC husband LOVED it. He has been begging me to make creamed beef for a long time. I've been looking for beef recipes that will work with ground bison as that is what we eat. This fit the bill. I doubled it and added some butter as bison is very lean, whole milk from the local dairy and organic worcestershire sauce. I also added sauted onions & garlic and a little parsley. I was so glad to find a recipe that doesn't call for a can of condensed soup. That stuff is vile. Served over homemade buttermilk biscuits this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great Recipe! I just needed something quick to put together for myself, and it did the job. Since only cooking for myself I scaled the recipe to about 1/2. I did however add 2 cloves of garlic, half a white onion and some mushrooms. I also didn't have beef bouillon, but used chicken bouillon and that did the job. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
My mother made this dish often only she served it over boiled potatoes and called it hamburger gravy. Has been and always will be a family favorite. My recipe is the same minus the worcestershire sauce, but that gives it a little zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoelov

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was a very quick meal to prepare. I added onion & garlic to the beef as it was cooking to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States