Army SOS Creamed Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Immediately made one alteration to the recipe.I cut back on the flour to only 1 to 2 tbsp of flour per cup of milk.The more flour you add the more bland and thick (we're not making mortar here)it gets.Other than that we loved it!Try it over egg noodles instead of rice (as shown)the rice will make it even blander
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I gave it 5 stars but I did change it as most people did. I added garlic, half an onion, onion salt, garlic salt, pepper and lots of red pepper flakes. It turned out great and with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldielocs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mander
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Yum! It was late didn't know what to make and I had ground beef... This was perfect and satisfying over top some rice! Added onion, extra Worcestershire, garlic, and some McCormick hamburger seasoning, to give it some umph. Will make again when I'm short on time, thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I made this same recipe for my husband and served over scrambled eggs. I thought it was wierd at first but he said that's how he had it in the army. The men were allowed either 2 sausages, 2 skimpy strips of bacon or ALL the s.o.s. they wanted! He chose the s.o.s. over his eggs every time. Good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have not tried this yet but I will. I ate a lot of SOS in the Navy, but that version was like sloppy joe over toast. I never thought about putting the beef in a gravy, but sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
no flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
one of my favorites, so simple, and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was GREAT!! Easy, fast, and simple. Served it over egg noodles. Used basically what Cody added to it to give it flavor, but I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and not as much milk. It turned out amazing in about 20 minutes start to finish, and cost me about $9 dollars to make. Can't really tell how much of each ingredient I used cause I'm kinda a flavor to taste kinda guy. Just use Cody's recommended ingredients and that can of soup and season to taste. You could literally feed an army with this also. Enjoy!! I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was pretty good. My family liked it. Like others commented, ground beef tends to be bland so extra seasoning is a must. I sautéed a whole small onion with salt and pepper and 2 cilantro bouillon. I added 2 pound ground beef since that's what I had. Seasoned again with a little more salt and pepper. I brown my meat on medium heat and not stir very much. I find if I brown it higher than that and stir to much, the meat tends to toughen. It does take a bit longer to cook but worth the wait. Once browned, I added 3 cloves of minced garlic and let it cook 1-2 minutes. I used 1/2 cup flour since I had 2 lb meat. I was able to use the same amount of liquid measurements the recipe calls for (2 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 tsp Worcestershire sauce). It was the perfect amount even though I had more meat. I served over white jasmine rice. Nice quick dish for a weeknight meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My mom used to serve this to us for breakfast on toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States