Armenian Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
good, flavorful, but too much money for rice (5 soups, 4 bullion, etc adds up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I add some cumin to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Love this recipe. We use Ramen Noodles and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verysinfulcook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We enjoyed this very much as a change of pace to my regular rice pilaf. I didn't have egg noodles so I used fideo that I had hanging around the cabinet and I added some caramelized right before serving. Super yum I'm glad we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Same basic recipe that has been in MY Armenian family for 3 generations (in The USA) and my little ones are starting the 4th generation now. The old timers would sometimes top it off with plain yogurt or diced tomatoes as do I. I also use sea salt and fresh, finely cracked white pepper and maybe a bit less butter. I strongly recommend using converted/parboiled rice as it doesn't clump though basmati and jasmine are pretty darn good too as is large milled cracked wheat (bulgur). BTW: I too prefer orzo. You can pre-brown this (the trick always is to get it only GOLDEN brown)in a slow/moderate oven layed out thin on a backing pan stirring several times. Put it in a jar, then mix ALL other ingredients in a rice cooker and sit back and have a drink. FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
David really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made it for Christmas last year. It was loved! Even by all the picky kids. I made mine with orzo pasta intead of "fine egg noodles". Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I halved the recipe and used homemade chicken broth. We loved it. Served with Baked Pork Chops from this site and steamed broccoli. This does make alot, will have plenty of leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for posting, 5lilblessings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This pilaf was delicious just as written. There are lots of additions you could make by adding vegetables or chopped chicken but I love the ease and simplicity of it just the way it is. My only question is serving size. I halved the recipe and it was enough for at least 6 servings. If you make the full recipe, you can serve 12 more people. Thanks siliblessings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is the way I learned to make rice pilaf from my grandmother who was part Lebanese. So delicious. This particular recipe makes enough to feed an army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States