Armenian Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I've made something very close to this and it's from a family friend who's Armenian. Once you brown the egg noodles add salt and powdered garlic and mix. Then stir in rice and mix. Then add enough chicken broth to go up one inch above the rice and boil until the broth goes below the rice level (you won't see the liquid anymore). Then lower heat and let sit until all liquid it gone. It's my favorite rice. I don't measure the amount of salt or garlic, no one in my family ever has, I just watched them make it to see how much they put in. But if I had to guess (with 1 cup of rice and 1/2 a cup of egg noodles) maybe a teaspoon of salt maybe a tad more and tablespoon of garlic powder? Keep trying and you'll make it to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
different . ok but nobody raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
good, flavorful, but too much money for rice (5 soups, 4 bullion, etc adds up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I add some cumin to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Love this recipe. We use Ramen Noodles and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verysinfulcook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We enjoyed this very much as a change of pace to my regular rice pilaf. I didn't have egg noodles so I used fideo that I had hanging around the cabinet and I added some caramelized right before serving. Super yum I'm glad we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Same basic recipe that has been in MY Armenian family for 3 generations (in The USA) and my little ones are starting the 4th generation now. The old timers would sometimes top it off with plain yogurt or diced tomatoes as do I. I also use sea salt and fresh, finely cracked white pepper and maybe a bit less butter. I strongly recommend using converted/parboiled rice as it doesn't clump though basmati and jasmine are pretty darn good too as is large milled cracked wheat (bulgur). BTW: I too prefer orzo. You can pre-brown this (the trick always is to get it only GOLDEN brown)in a slow/moderate oven layed out thin on a backing pan stirring several times. Put it in a jar, then mix ALL other ingredients in a rice cooker and sit back and have a drink. FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
David really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Made it for Christmas last year. It was loved! Even by all the picky kids. I made mine with orzo pasta intead of "fine egg noodles". Worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I halved the recipe and used homemade chicken broth. We loved it. Served with Baked Pork Chops from this site and steamed broccoli. This does make alot, will have plenty of leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for posting, 5lilblessings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States