Armenian Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is a great comfort food! It's like a really good Rice A Roni--buttery, herby, and lovely chicken flavor. My grocery store doesn't have the fine egg noodles, so I just crush up medium egg noodles. I also make it with brown rice instead of white...I just parboil the brown rice for about 20 minutes. I've found that I sometimes have to increase the butter and number of bouillon cubes until it reaches that perfect point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I am the original poster and half Armenian. This pilaf recipe is a rather plain one but this is this recipe for regular chicken rice pilaf. There are many different kinds of pilaf....some that call for oysters and pine nuts, some call for currents and many diverse seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was plain, had too much butter, almost greasy. Update: I made this a second time with basmati rice, roasted pine nuts, diced onion, celery, mushrooms diced, and garlic powder. Just a few 1/4 cup of each of the vegetables and a shake of the garlic powder. I added the vegetables to the pot just after sauteeing the noodles. This is a versatile base recipe in that you are able to add other flavors easily. This recipe certainly makes a ton of rice, even cutting the recipe in half, I had 2 days worth. I cooked it in a Le Creuset douch oven for 25 minutes and left it covered after I turned off the stove for another 10 minutes for the excess liquid to absorb. I usually can't cook rice, but I succeeded with this recipe. Eureka!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I've made something very close to this and it's from a family friend who's Armenian. Once you brown the egg noodles add salt and powdered garlic and mix. Then stir in rice and mix. Then add enough chicken broth to go up one inch above the rice and boil until the broth goes below the rice level (you won't see the liquid anymore). Then lower heat and let sit until all liquid it gone. It's my favorite rice. I don't measure the amount of salt or garlic, no one in my family ever has, I just watched them make it to see how much they put in. But if I had to guess (with 1 cup of rice and 1/2 a cup of egg noodles) maybe a teaspoon of salt maybe a tad more and tablespoon of garlic powder? Keep trying and you'll make it to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
different . ok but nobody raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
good, flavorful, but too much money for rice (5 soups, 4 bullion, etc adds up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I add some cumin to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Love this recipe. We use Ramen Noodles and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verysinfulcook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We enjoyed this very much as a change of pace to my regular rice pilaf. I didn't have egg noodles so I used fideo that I had hanging around the cabinet and I added some caramelized right before serving. Super yum I'm glad we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States