Armenian Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I am the original poster and half Armenian. This pilaf recipe is a rather plain one but this is this recipe for regular chicken rice pilaf. There are many different kinds of pilaf....some that call for oysters and pine nuts, some call for currents and many diverse seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was plain, had too much butter, almost greasy. Update: I made this a second time with basmati rice, roasted pine nuts, diced onion, celery, mushrooms diced, and garlic powder. Just a few 1/4 cup of each of the vegetables and a shake of the garlic powder. I added the vegetables to the pot just after sauteeing the noodles. This is a versatile base recipe in that you are able to add other flavors easily. This recipe certainly makes a ton of rice, even cutting the recipe in half, I had 2 days worth. I cooked it in a Le Creuset douch oven for 25 minutes and left it covered after I turned off the stove for another 10 minutes for the excess liquid to absorb. I usually can't cook rice, but I succeeded with this recipe. Eureka!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I've made something very close to this and it's from a family friend who's Armenian. Once you brown the egg noodles add salt and powdered garlic and mix. Then stir in rice and mix. Then add enough chicken broth to go up one inch above the rice and boil until the broth goes below the rice level (you won't see the liquid anymore). Then lower heat and let sit until all liquid it gone. It's my favorite rice. I don't measure the amount of salt or garlic, no one in my family ever has, I just watched them make it to see how much they put in. But if I had to guess (with 1 cup of rice and 1/2 a cup of egg noodles) maybe a teaspoon of salt maybe a tad more and tablespoon of garlic powder? Keep trying and you'll make it to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
different . ok but nobody raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
good, flavorful, but too much money for rice (5 soups, 4 bullion, etc adds up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I add some cumin to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Love this recipe. We use Ramen Noodles and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by verysinfulcook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Radford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dublin, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We enjoyed this very much as a change of pace to my regular rice pilaf. I didn't have egg noodles so I used fideo that I had hanging around the cabinet and I added some caramelized right before serving. Super yum I'm glad we have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Same basic recipe that has been in MY Armenian family for 3 generations (in The USA) and my little ones are starting the 4th generation now. The old timers would sometimes top it off with plain yogurt or diced tomatoes as do I. I also use sea salt and fresh, finely cracked white pepper and maybe a bit less butter. I strongly recommend using converted/parboiled rice as it doesn't clump though basmati and jasmine are pretty darn good too as is large milled cracked wheat (bulgur). BTW: I too prefer orzo. You can pre-brown this (the trick always is to get it only GOLDEN brown)in a slow/moderate oven layed out thin on a backing pan stirring several times. Put it in a jar, then mix ALL other ingredients in a rice cooker and sit back and have a drink. FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
David really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States