Armadillo Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Alot of work. You need to make it a couple times to get it down the way you want it. Very good after a couple trys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Ok, I had a little trouble with these - first of all they are HUGE. I even halved my jalepeno's but after covering it in the sausage mixture, they came out enormous. I even flattened out a sausage patty to wrap around the jalepeno and made it as thin as possible and still - BIG. The problem was when they baked, a couple of them the sausage mixture started to slide off the jalepeno, Im thinking because of all the cheese in the sausage mixture. I stuffed some with cream cheese and some with cheddar, the cream cheese ones were better, I have to say. We put the rest in the freezer and my husband decided to reheat some yesterday and they tasted so much better. Im thinking maybe not put so much cheese in the sausage mixture and use smaller jalepenos? I dont know, I will make this again but I need to mess with it. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
These were a huge hit at the last Super Bowl party! We loved them, I had tons of requests for the recipe and I've been told I have to bring them every year! I used jarred jalapenos and hot sausage, they were even hotter the next day. Stuffing the peppers is time consuming and I will wear gloves next time as my hands burned after making a double-batch, but the response was worth it! I served these with a jalapeno-ranch dressing (will post the recipe soon. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Wow! Great hit at our Super Bowl party - but hot!! A little labor intensive, but worth it! My son loves jalapeno poppers so I tried these. Used lean chorizo sausage & sharp cheddar, and no red pepper flakes or garlic salt in dough. I also stuffed jalapenos with cubes of cream cheese, instead of the jack. These were HOT - but delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
These were good but next time I don't think I will make 'eggs'. I think I will just roll out the sausage dough with a greased roller and put green chili peppers and shredded pepper jack cheese on half of the dough, fold over, seal, and then cook. Let it cool enough so the cheese doesn't run, then slice into bite size pieces. I left out the pepper flakes because I didn't want 'hot'. I also only used 2 teaspoons of garlic salt and that was plenty. As another reviewer stated, had to add 1/3 cup of milk to get the extremely dry mixture to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
This is a very time consuming and tedious recipe, but as with many other things in life, the finished product is worth the wait! I have made these several times exactly as the recipe states. Next time, I may follow another viewers advice and cut the peppers in half. That should cut down on the pepper prep time. These armadillo eggs are a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
These are good hot from the oven or cold from the fridge. Great appetizer for casual get togethers. I have a couple of time saving tips: Cut the stem off of the jalapeno and scoop out the seeds and membrane with the tip of your potato peeler. Rather than cubing the cheese, cut it into rectangles and just slip it in from the end that you cut the stem from. For the reviewer who wanted more zip: toss the balls into Shake and Bake for Pork, the hot and spicy type. That ups the heat without hiding the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
I had a mexican dinner party last night at my house and my friends couldnt get enough of these. They are so good. I made 24 of them and only had 2 left (there was only 4 of us). I used italian hot sausage instead of regular to spice it up a bit more. They were not as spicy as I thought they would be. Next time, I am going to try to add something different to give them a little more of a kick (Maybe some hot pepper cheese instead of cheddar). Just a tip, make sure you wear gloves when working with the peppers. I am still have trouble with my hands burning. Try this recipe. It is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
The batter needs about 1/2 cup of milk to make the it stick to the pepper and cheese. Just the right amount of spiciness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
Excellent and quite filling appetizer. These are definitely not finger food and require a fork and plate. I used the canned jalapenos and the Pepper Jack cheese as someone else recommended and they came out terrific. I served Jalapeno Ranch Dressing as a dipping sauce. My host asked me for the recipe so I would say they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States