Arlene's Bacon & Crabmeat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My hubby and I really liked these. Easy to assemble. I used the Chicken of the Sea Crabmeat in the 8oz can because it's what I found at the store. Laid all my cut pieces of bacon out and measured the meat out evenly...just to make sure I had enough to go around. I did have to cook mine a little longer to ensure even-ness because the bacon just wasn't getting cooked at 10 minutes on broil, took about 17-18 minutes total. Other then that, they were tasty little morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love crab and I agree this sounded so good but I made it today and both my husband and I thought it lack something. I followed the recipe and it was tasteless. I tried placing them on toasted baguettes rounds with duck sauce.Then I tried mixing the crab with cream cheese and some beau monde but it too was bland. Perhaps it was the crab itself. I used non refrigerated canned. (The kind in the tuna section.) The next time I will try fresh crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great idea for an appetizer. The only thing I changed was that I cut the bacon into thirds instead of halves so that they'd be more "bite-size". I also added lemon juice, and old bay to the crab meat and I cut some jalapeno peppers into skinny slivers and rolled them up with the crab meat to add a little extra bite. Aside from the duck sauce I also provided some Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce for a tasty, hot kick. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I was so excited to try this recipe for a party I have coming up. I wanted to try it out before hand so I made them for my husband. He really liked them, I however did not. Maybe because of all the great reviews I had my hopes up higher than I should have. I personally was let down. My husband thinks they will go over well, but I thought they were disappointing. I love crab and bacon both so I was craving these ever since I came across the recipe. Now I don't think I will make them. I will say it's hard not to keep eating them, despite the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colbiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this recipe for a party this past weekend and it was a huge hit!! I premade the crab rolls and put them in the fridge until right before the party, popped them in the broiler for 10 minutes and then wa-la! Very easy to prepare, easy to cook & easy to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
these are good and Simple to make. I will not broil them next time as the crab gets to dark no matter how much you watch and flip them. great for a quick seafood appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myeclecticmind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardiner, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This recipe is sooo yummy, my boyfriend ate about 20 of them before I told him he couldn't have anymore! The only thing I didn't like was when the bacon was cooking in the oven, it got really really smoky in my apartment to the point where I teared up. So have a fan ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Good and simple. i made it not expecting to much out of it but it was really good. Plus it was quick to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I made this recipe for my mother's birthday, and it went over very well. There were leftovers, but my sister claimed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I made this as an appetizer for a friend's gathering, but no one ever had a chance to try them. After tasting the first one, my husband told me I couldn't take them to the party. He sat down and ate the WHOLE tray, and I am not kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chocolate-Covered Bacon Strips

How do you make bacon even better? Add chocolate, of course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States