Arlene's Bacon & Crabmeat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I made this as an appetizer for a friend's gathering, but no one ever had a chance to try them. After tasting the first one, my husband told me I couldn't take them to the party. He sat down and ate the WHOLE tray, and I am not kidding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great idea for an appetizer. The only thing I changed was that I cut the bacon into thirds instead of halves so that they'd be more "bite-size". I also added lemon juice, and old bay to the crab meat and I cut some jalapeno peppers into skinny slivers and rolled them up with the crab meat to add a little extra bite. Aside from the duck sauce I also provided some Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce for a tasty, hot kick. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this recipe for a party this past weekend and it was a huge hit!! I premade the crab rolls and put them in the fridge until right before the party, popped them in the broiler for 10 minutes and then wa-la! Very easy to prepare, easy to cook & easy to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love crab and I agree this sounded so good but I made it today and both my husband and I thought it lack something. I followed the recipe and it was tasteless. I tried placing them on toasted baguettes rounds with duck sauce.Then I tried mixing the crab with cream cheese and some beau monde but it too was bland. Perhaps it was the crab itself. I used non refrigerated canned. (The kind in the tuna section.) The next time I will try fresh crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
these are good and Simple to make. I will not broil them next time as the crab gets to dark no matter how much you watch and flip them. great for a quick seafood appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myeclecticmind

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardiner, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I was so excited to try this recipe for a party I have coming up. I wanted to try it out before hand so I made them for my husband. He really liked them, I however did not. Maybe because of all the great reviews I had my hopes up higher than I should have. I personally was let down. My husband thinks they will go over well, but I thought they were disappointing. I love crab and bacon both so I was craving these ever since I came across the recipe. Now I don't think I will make them. I will say it's hard not to keep eating them, despite the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colbiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This recipe is sooo yummy, my boyfriend ate about 20 of them before I told him he couldn't have anymore! The only thing I didn't like was when the bacon was cooking in the oven, it got really really smoky in my apartment to the point where I teared up. So have a fan ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I made this recipe for my mother's birthday, and it went over very well. There were leftovers, but my sister claimed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Good and simple. i made it not expecting to much out of it but it was really good. Plus it was quick to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My hubby and I really liked these. Easy to assemble. I used the Chicken of the Sea Crabmeat in the 8oz can because it's what I found at the store. Laid all my cut pieces of bacon out and measured the meat out evenly...just to make sure I had enough to go around. I did have to cook mine a little longer to ensure even-ness because the bacon just wasn't getting cooked at 10 minutes on broil, took about 17-18 minutes total. Other then that, they were tasty little morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Bacon Cheddar Deviled Eggs

Make your deviled eggs better—with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States