Arkansas Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Made these today for Easter dinner. I used 2 - 1 lb pkgs of frozen green beans thawed. We browned and drained the bacon first. While the bacon was cooking we cooked the beans and onions in a little water to tender crisp and drained. Did not have any soy sauce so used 4 tsps Worchestershire sauce and only 1/3 cup Splenda brown sugar and added extra garlic. Also added 1 can of sliced water chestnuts (diced) and 1/2 cup sliced almonds for extra crunch. Made this on the stovetop for ease. Would not have altered the recipe, but found we were missing ingredients after we had started cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I did this on the stove since I was pressed for time. It was delicious and nice change to plain green beans or green bean casserole. This is delicious and a keeper. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good. I tried this with fresh green beans, then with frozen just cut the cooking time down. Worked well both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
These green beans are absolutely the BEST!!! I did use a clove of fresh garlic and frozen beans. but followed the rest of the recipe. and i am making them again tonight as i speak. second time in a week..... Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is OUTSTANDING!!! My 15 month old couldn't get enough!! Super easy! The only thing I did change was a little less brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayyme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This was delicious! Rather than putting bacon strips on top, I used "real bacon pieces", and stirred all ingredients together before pouring into pan. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Was looking for something a bit new to do with green beans. This did have a delicious flavor. I would recommend cutting the bacon into 4 parts before putting on top because it is not bite size once the dish is done. I will also look into thickening the sauce SLIGHTLY next time but the flavor was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love this recipe... No more plain green beans for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was awesome! My son who does not care for green beans actually ate these. Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was beyond awesome!! I am not a fan of canned green beans but my son and husband love them. So that's why I tried this. This is a huge hit in my home. If I go to a party, I am requested to make these. TRY 'EM YOU'LL LOVE 'EM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States