Arkansas Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
oh my!, these are really, really good. I used fresh green beans and fresh garlic. I cut the sugar in half and it was fine(always find recipes to be to sweet). I will be making these again and they will show up on the holiday table. Caught my son dipping bread in the sauce. Thanks for sharing. YUM, YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I agree with SWEETJAM who previously reviewed this recipe making 2 alterations. With the reduction in sugar (used 1/2 of what the recipe called for) and using 1 fresh minced clove of garlic, this was a HUGE hit at dinner last night. Way better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
GREAT recipe! I cut the sugar amount in half like others, and it worked great. However, by drizzling the sauce on top of everything, it made some bites unevenly stronger than the others. Maybe you could mix the beans, sauce and bacon together before baking and that would help? Overall, a great recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny with a G

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Oh. My. God. So I have to be honest. I picked this recipe over the various others because of the fact that you bake it. This is much easier when making a large Christmas dinner. I was VERY worried how it would taste, the brown sugar part was making everyone make faces. So I took the suggestion of others and halved the brown sugar. As I was worried about the sauce permeating through all the beans, I also added 50% more sauce. Turns out this second part was not needed, but taking the brown sugar down by half was. IT WAS PERFECT. Everyone LOVED it. The only other changes I made was that I did cut the bacon into smaller pieces before microwaving, but I still layed it on top, and used enough to cover the beans. I also used frozen beans, and 4 bags worked well. We will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Huge disappointment. 40 min @ 350 = extremely over cooked beans and I used fresh beans.Can't imagine what canned beans would have been like since are already partially cooked.I used half the sugar and they were way too sweet. Used only 5 tsp soya, 7 would have been too much. Used one clove fresh minced garlic; that was good. Overall these beans had a nice flavour but they were overcooked, too sweet and too greasy. If I tried this recipe again I would make the sauce with less sugar, less soya and less butter, I would steam the beans, cook the bacon with the garlic, make the sauce and pour it over the cooked beans. But guess that would be a whole new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yum! I will definitely use this recipe again. I used fresh green beans, about 1.5 lbs i think and cut the other ingredients in half. I wish i made more. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
really good! I halved the recipe for 3 people, 5 servings. I cooked the bacon about 1/2 way in a pan, then cut into smaller pieces, added to 2 cans of green beans into a 8x8 baking dish, then tossed to coat with the sauce. I tasted a bean 1/2 way thru cooking and added more soy sauce to make it less sweet. My boyfriend really liked, and ate the extras :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
None of us cared for these. Way too sweet, and DH didn't like all the soy sauce. He thought they were supposed to be a chinese recipe. Too bad, because I really had high hopes, and this makes a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Yum Yum and Easy Easy! I ended up using 2 (30 oz.) cans of green beans, half of the brown sugar, and used the pre-cooked bacon pieces found near the salad dressing in the grocery store. Oh, and used minced garlic. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Excellent! I used fresh green beans and halved the brown sugar. (If using fresh green beans, cover the dish when baking to allow the beans to steam.) A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States