Argentinean-Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
You absolutely must use rock salt for this recipe. Not just coarse salt. This is known as kosher rock salt or Ice Cream salt. If you use table salt, salt from a salt grinder or anything finer it will ruin the meat. If you use the right salt this recipe is amazingly good and simple. This is also known as Churrascaria or picanha in Brazil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I am betting alot of individuals inadvertently used table salt. It is not at all salty when COARSE salt is used. It is essentially the same way in which you prepare a 20# rib roast! COURSE SALT people, NOT table salt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
GREAT flavor for ribs and not difficult. These are not your standard, break-out-the-bib ribs. They're easy, not messy, and quick! You can vary the amount of salt you use, but you should be pretty generous with the amount you coat on the ribs. The salt just cuts the fat away! These are also tasty as leftovers. Just steam them for 5 minutes and they're as good as right off the grill! Definitely one of the best rib recipe's I've ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I remember having these once before and I've been looking for the recipe everywhere! They are salty, not for those looking for BBQ sauce style ribs, but with the lime they are wonderfully different and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Stop!!! This is an excellent recipe but I know why it is too salty for most of the reviewers. You are not using the right salt. When they say coarse salt you need to use at least Kosher salt but I use more like a rock salt. After cooking most of it breaks away and the meat is not too salty. A fine salt will absolutely ruin this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This makes an awesome marinade. I marinaded the ribs in this mixture and added some diced tomatoes, crushed garlic and green chilis and cilantro. This was very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I give them a four. I wont make them very often though. I am a saltaholic so I liked them. The lime gives it a unique twist and kills alot of the salt flavor anyway. Kind of reminded me of a rib roast recipe on this site. I rate these decent.Wife said 3.5, daughter gave it a 4 so thats what i went with. May make them every blue moon though. I can definitely see where very few people would like this. Just scale it and go buy a small pack of short ribs (beef). Thats what I did. Gotta love Sam's for that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Some people think that this is way too salty, but you just need to coat the ribs with the salt and take it all off when the ribs are done. Simple and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fernanda MM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Delicious and easy to cook. A very pleasant departure from traditional bbq sauce based ribs. The secret is in the right amount of fresh lime juice. It cuts the saltiness and adds a great citrus flavor. I highly recommend these for food lovers who like to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States