Argentine Meat Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought this recipe was great! I made some changes from the original which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I didn't use the shortening, but used just a tiny bit of olive oil. I also added some garlic and peas, and ommited the eggs and olives. Also, I used a mix of raisins that had 3 varieties. It turned out very well!! Putting it together was time consuming, but worth it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I found some spanish frozen dough in the supermarket and it was fine, I fried some and baked some, definatley baking them is MUCH better. I left out the shortening and raisins. I put too much paprika oops but my husband LOVED it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Thank you! I am originally from Paraguay, love empanadas! Reminds me of home. The only thing we did differently was add green olives, it adds a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyTurtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I substitute the meat for any leftover meat that I have on hand such as roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
the empandas would taste better if you used real empanada dough.you can get it at any international store...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I just didnt like this recipe. i made 2 batches and both times didnt like it. it was greasy, and had way too much stuff in it. will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
just wanted to note -a below user said it didnt work with filo, thats because the recipe calls for puff pastry. They are 2 different things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
the combination of flavore was very good. I added almost double the spices called for to increase the flavors. Family and friends loved it. A little time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
The filling is delicious and my family loved them, but they are little time consuming, and I didn't get as many out of one package of puff pastry as I would have like. I think next time I'll try them with a plain pastry crust, as more puff pastry is too expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Really tasty, but way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States