Argentine Meat Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was wonderful. I didn't add the green olives and eggs because my daughter doesn't like them, but I think that the raisins made the dish. I used the puff pastry dough, but forgot to thaw it, so I baked those and then filled them. I am going to try the empanada dough one reviewer mentioned next time. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I made these for a Missions banquet at church. Different people were assigned different countries to prepare dishes from. These were a huge hit. The South American Table stayed the busiest all night. I doubled my recipe and made about 60 empanadas....I too chose to leave out the raisins, but added everything else. The puff pastry was a little difficult to use, the next time I will find a recipe for emanada dough and make that. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was fantastic, even better than I had hoped. I made slight changes though: first of all, I had to double the amount of cumin and I used 3 tbsp of red pepper flakes (I used the ones that come with pizza) I had just a few chopped olives and I dumped the vinegar they come in along with a tbsp chopped jalapeño and a bit of the its vinegar. There is a person who said cumin is not in the original recipe, well it is. Paprika, however, is not. So I didn´t use any, believe me, I didn´t need it! The boiled egg sounded odd, but considering it is an original ingredient, I added it. It went well with the other flavors. I already had some flaky crust handy, so I used it. They were great, will make often and perfect for special ocassions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
These were a hit at a party.I added extra vinegar(red wine vinegar) for more flavor. I sauteed the onions and extra lean meat together. The raisins were a really nice addition to the mixture. These were definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was my first time making empanadas and I'm hooked! I read the other reviews and cooked the onions and meat together, then added spices. These were very easy and tasted GREAT! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The meat filling was tasty. However, like a previous reviewer, I too chose not to use the puffed pastry and opted for the dough from the Empanadas Fritas de Queso recipe. All in all they were very good. I did not have any raisins so I substituted with craisins. Next time I think I will try it with my pie crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great recipe. I changed it up a little. I used a leftover spoon roast I had from the night before and minced it a food processor. I also made pizza dough to use as the dough. I also tried it with puff pastry-but the pizza dough was easier to work with and tasted great. I also added fresh cilantro. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Made these and they are excellent. Had extra meat left. Made more and froze them. They cook and taste great just like the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BratCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
After reading all the great reveiws on this I was excited to try this recipe. But the end result was nothing special. I did make my own empanda dough from scratch (from another recipe on this site) rather than using the puff pastry. I also substituted some chopped up baked potato for the hard cooked egg since the egg seemed odd to me. And, as suggested by other reviewers, I cooked all the filling ingredients together rather than following the directions in the original recipe. I did, however, use only 1 tbl of olive oil to cook everything in instead of the 1/2 cup shortening as in the recipe since that seemed very excessive. Maybe that lack of fat was what gave my filling a somewhat dry texture. We also found the seasoning to be rather bland. For all the effort that went into making these, these were only ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States