Argentine Meat Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
A friend of ours from Argentina told me that we had to try Empanadas. I showed him this recipe and told him that I was going to make it. He told me to leave the vinegar and raisins out so I did. I also didn't have Hungarian sweet paprika so I left it out. I used freshly made Empanada dough that our friend gave me the recipe for. Turned out great!! Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My family loved them. I did, however, substitute Johnsonville Italian Sausage for the ground beef which gave it a more chorizo taste. I did not use shortening but vegetable oil instead. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic, used less paprika and added some oregano and pepper and I left out the raisins. I used pastry discs from a local Mexican market. I fried ours in vegetable oil until lightly golden brown. Fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Loved it! with one MAJOR CHANGE...the puff pastry is too sweet. I buy the pastry rounds specifically for empanadas in the freezer section in the grocery store. There are various brands, Goya, La Cubanita, and others. I found them in St. Paul MN as well as Huntington Beach,CA. The meat preparation is fantastic. All fat is gone so they bake up beautifully. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
It was excellent. I'm not basing it on anything so I can't speak for authenticity, but it tastes great and wasn't difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I'm really frustrated by this recipe. I followed it exactly with one exception. I was able to get 12 empanadas out of the dough. That said, I don't understand the proportions at all! I had 80% of my beef mixture left over and the same for the olive mixture. What a WASTE! The recipe is a lot of work and since it is such a mess, I'd never bother with it again. Flavor wasn't near good enough to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
One of my and my husband's very favorite recipes! We've used it with beef, venison, turkey and a combo of meats and they all turn out fantastically! I was a little bit skeptical about the raisins and olives at first, but then I tried it, and it was perfect. Give it a try, it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I don`t eat meat, made this recipe for my mom, so there is her opinion. I made just the meat filling using Rosina`s Empanadas dough recipe from this site. I followed the recipe exactly, just omitted vinegar. This is the best meat filling we have tried so far, but we had a feeling this won`t be the one keeper. To suit my family tastes, next time I will omit raisins, because my mom didn`t like so much the sweetness that came from raisins. Green olives gave a very nice flavor, I used less than 1/2 cup. Delicious and interesting. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This has become a family favorite. I usually have enough filling left over to freeze for next time, and it works perfectly! My husband lived in Argentina for 2 years and this brings back great memories for him. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
A co-worker of mine is from Argentina and his wife, who is from Italy, made them empanadas one evening for supper and he brought some leftovers in and I loved them, so I tried to look for a recipe that was similar to how he was describing she prepared them and I found this one (his wife happens to share the same name as the author!). My husband helped me prepare the empanadas, so they weren't as time consuming (I doubled the recipe as we have a lot of mouths to feed and always plan for leftovers). These were sooooo good!!!! I even used the recipe once to make a shepherd's pie when I didn't having the empanada shells :) Such a great recipe...definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
As a vegetarian who once ate meat and lived in Argentina, I've been searching for something along these lines to fiddle with. The only thing I changed was instead of meat, I used firm tofu, drained and squeezed of excess moisture and then sauteed with the onions and spices so it would absorb the flavors, and added a pinch of cinnamon and cardamom. Delish! Served with a glass of APOTHIC red wine & a garden salad, it's perfection! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydreaming

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States