Argentine Meat Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
Absolutely delicious!!!! What an awesome recipe... I lived in Chile for awhile, and empanadas were a mainstay.. but I love this variation with the phyllo dough!!! Would love to know if there are any variations for the cheese and chicken empanadas!!! Thanks for a great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
super yummy! like i remembered when i was in s. america
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
I made this dinner for our household and took some over to the neighbor. Everyone, aged 1 to 65, LOVED it! Very simple to make. I did subsitute Ground Turkey for the beef. This wasn't greasy at all. Vary good! iserved spanish rice and put my left over meat mixture in the rice. MMMMMMM and served that with tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
These were great. I actually mixed the eggs, olives, and raisins in with the meat mixture to save time, and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
My mom is from Peru and she makes empandas from a very similar recipe. This recipe gets two thumbs up for its authenticity! The only difference between my mom's empanadas and this recipe is the way you cook the beef. In my mom's recipe the beef is fried with all of the seasonings and onions. It is then drained of its excess fat. 80% lean works best because it prevents the meat from getting dried out when baking. I grew up eating beef empanadas and they are great! I think condiments really add something to the empandas; we always ate them with either lemon squeezed over them which works really well with the sweetness of the raisins and the spicyness of the paprika. The second option was to pour a few shakes of hotsauce to into your empanada. Cayenne peppersauce is excellent on an empanada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
just wanted to note -a below user said it didnt work with filo, thats because the recipe calls for puff pastry. They are 2 different things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Thank you! I am originally from Paraguay, love empanadas! Reminds me of home. The only thing we did differently was add green olives, it adds a unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyTurtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
excellant. very authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Soooo good!!! Tasted very authentic and reminded me of the dish my aunt made when I was little. I made just a few changes for a naturally sweeter version. I substituted 1 ½ red apples in place of olives, rice vinegar instead of white vinegar, and left out the red pepper. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio Rico, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My husband lived in Argentina for two years and he said it tasted just like an authentic empanada. It was really yummy! thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States