Argentine Meat Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These were good, but as a mom with 3 school aged children they were not worth the time they took to make or the mess I made making them. I was also left with alot of extra filling. If you are considering making these buy at least 2 packages of phyllo dough so you can make extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aksilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I am currently living in Argentina and what many people do is: once you glaze them with egg yolk, sprinkle a little bit of sugar on top of them. The contrast between really salty and sweet is amazing! What is also very important is: not to cook the meat too much the first time around. Once you pop them in the oven a second time to cook the dough, it might get a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aufenackeri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I dream about these empanadas. The first time I made them, and made the dough as well, and they were amazing. I had some filling left over, so I froze it and then bought the ready-made empanada dough you find in the freezer section. They turned out dry and tasteless. Not sure if the juiciness got lost from freezing, or if the dough really made that much of a difference. At any rate, following the recipe as is was really amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oliveoilandchocolate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I'm only rating the filling as I made my own basic dough. They were very tasty and they smelled awesome - I made them with only 1 kind of paprika (the store didn't have sweet vs. hot), without raisins and with kalamata olives instead of green. I also made some without the egg, I preferred it without egg. Good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twilight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These were pretty good. The shortening can be cut at least in half or even to 1TBS and the fillling deperatley needs salt. Make sure the dough is very well pinched or they will open up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I didn't really understand how to make the half moon shape; I guess I was kinda in a hurry. Mine ended up looking like big pasties but these are really, really tasty! My husband and I had the two leftover for lunch today and I think they were even better. This recipe is definately going in my recipe book and I'll have to work on the half moon thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Very good, a little greasy but I think that is normal for empanadas. Wanted to eat the entire batch. Husband and kids liked them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These were great! I like adding golden raisins to the mixture for a contrast in flavors. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timujin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is an amazing recipe! I am so happy I came across it and gave it a try. The only thing I do differently is I use margarine instead of shortening. I have tried cooking these with golden and regular purple raisins and I prefer the golden. I usually serve it with the Spanish Rice II recipe found on this website and a crisp green side (such as salad or green beans). Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! The dough is not quite like the empanadas I remember. This is better! The puff pastry is so light and airy and delicious. The filling was tasty too. Had lots of extra filling. Might need to use 2 packs of the puff pastry. I can see changing up the filling to whatever suits your taste. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States