Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This stew was really good!!! It says serves four so I doubled the recipe because I was having people over...this was not necessary! I soaked the lentils before I cooked them because that's what I always do,but that wasn't necessary either. I ended up with a lot of soup instead of stew, but the flavor was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
In all fairness, this was my first recipe using lentils so this may impact my review on this dish. It smelled great simmering, but the taste was not so good. I followed the recipe as stated except for subbing canned drained tomatoes for the fresh. I also scaled the recipe to 2 servings but it still made a ton! It easy could have been 5 servings. Way too many lentils in this dish. Even with all the interesting ingredients it had a bland taste. I ate 1/2 bowl and knew my kids wouldn't touch it, so I threw it out (first time for a recipe from here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Excellent recipe! Hubby loved it and my parent who were over for the day loved it as well. I can't wait to eat it again for lunch today! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
It was the intriguing combination of BBQ sauce and apples--neither of which I have ever used in a stew before--that made me want to try this recipe. I loved it! I made the stew almost exactly as the recipe directed, only I omitted the olive oil, used canned tomatoes, and celery instead of the peas. The BBQ sauce I used was Mesquite and gave the stew a wonderful smokey flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I made this stew last night and I love it. I kept the basic recipe the same but added a little more carrot, apple, paprika and some chopped celery. I also added a pinch of cayenne pepper and plenty of black pepper. It turned out so well! It's the perfect low fat way to use up veggies. I may try adding more veg next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was... interesting. I loved seeing all the veggies go in there and that healhy feeling made it more edible, but there was just something strange about the sweetness of it. Also, my lentils got way overcooked (and I cooked it less than the 20 minutes and 20 minutes). I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
The end result will clearly vary based upon what barbeque sauce one uses. We used Heinz, and the taste was overpowering. Not sure I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was pretty good. I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because like other reviewers I found the carrots to still be too crunchy (next time i'll put them in with the lentils) and i found it to be a little bland. I added about some cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice and that really helped! (i'm not sure how much though because i just poured them in lol) Definitely a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe, but it needs some spice. I added some red cayenne pepper and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This was rather thin and more like a soup. I do not think that I will be making this again. I added tabsco sauce and extra BBQ sauce and it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States