Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My daughter is vegan and I'm doing WW so it was a perfect blend! I did 6 servings, used veggie broth and water, as some reviewers suggested, added some cumin & cayenne pepper and extra paprika (I like lots of flavor) and didn't add any salt since the veggie broth supplied plenty. Will make this again and again. My daughters also suggested adding black beans and corn. This recipe is so versitile, you could use all sorts of veggies and spices to customize it to your tastes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
love this recipe. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very flavorful! After reading several reviews, I decided to all a LOT of extra veggies and I'm glad I did. Mine is definitely of a stew consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I thought this was pretty good and very stew-like. Easy to make, healthy and the apple was an unexpected twist. (No fresh tomatoes in the house so I substituted crushed tomatoes from a can.) I like the idea of adding sausage or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delish!! I have been making a shorter version of this recipe for years, and my husband came up with the idea of adding bbq sauce to the finished dish. We've been eating it that way ever since! I used chicken sausage w/ apples and added a little cayenne pepper to kick it up a bit. Perfect balance of sweet, spicy and salty. Also, in placeo of broth or salt, I have used onion soup mix instead (omitting some of the chopped onion as well). We usually pair with rice or cornbread and dollop with bbq sauce. Great as leftovers, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
great flavor... the barbecue sauce and the apple mix surprisingly well with the the rest of the stew! i'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was what we would call a soup--not a stew. It was very good though and I will make it again because we like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I had some leftover homemade applesauce (prepared with apple pie spice and brown sugar, so I omitted the BBQ sauce) that needed to be used, so I decided to try this recipe. And I'm glad I did. I used chicken boullion instead of vegetable, scallions instead of yellow onion, a can of green beans instead of the peas and a small can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. In addition, I added 3 "all purposed" potatoes and added additional spices (peppercorns, rosemary and tarragon leaves and some fresh basil). Topped it with parmesan cheese and served it with Saltine crackers. Both my husband and I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Very tasty recipe! I like the flavors of the apple and the barbecue sauce and these ingredients add such a great taste to the stew. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I was a little skeptical to make this for some friends that we had over due to the unique flavors, but I am so glad I did. It was delicious. They couldn't believe there was apple in it. I always love the aroma of bbq sauce, but never really know how to utilize it being a vegetarian...this stew did it for me and I will be keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States