Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I thought this was pretty good and very stew-like. Easy to make, healthy and the apple was an unexpected twist. (No fresh tomatoes in the house so I substituted crushed tomatoes from a can.) I like the idea of adding sausage or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delish!! I have been making a shorter version of this recipe for years, and my husband came up with the idea of adding bbq sauce to the finished dish. We've been eating it that way ever since! I used chicken sausage w/ apples and added a little cayenne pepper to kick it up a bit. Perfect balance of sweet, spicy and salty. Also, in placeo of broth or salt, I have used onion soup mix instead (omitting some of the chopped onion as well). We usually pair with rice or cornbread and dollop with bbq sauce. Great as leftovers, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
great flavor... the barbecue sauce and the apple mix surprisingly well with the the rest of the stew! i'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was what we would call a soup--not a stew. It was very good though and I will make it again because we like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I had some leftover homemade applesauce (prepared with apple pie spice and brown sugar, so I omitted the BBQ sauce) that needed to be used, so I decided to try this recipe. And I'm glad I did. I used chicken boullion instead of vegetable, scallions instead of yellow onion, a can of green beans instead of the peas and a small can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. In addition, I added 3 "all purposed" potatoes and added additional spices (peppercorns, rosemary and tarragon leaves and some fresh basil). Topped it with parmesan cheese and served it with Saltine crackers. Both my husband and I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Very tasty recipe! I like the flavors of the apple and the barbecue sauce and these ingredients add such a great taste to the stew. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I was a little skeptical to make this for some friends that we had over due to the unique flavors, but I am so glad I did. It was delicious. They couldn't believe there was apple in it. I always love the aroma of bbq sauce, but never really know how to utilize it being a vegetarian...this stew did it for me and I will be keeping this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This was amazing soup! I added crushed red pepper, cumin, oregono, basil, bay leaf, and a few rosemary springs because I like my soups spicy. The barbacue and apples go amazingly together. Anyone who dosent like this soup is probably not a big fan of lentils or does not like barbacue sauce cause this was awesome. Thanks so much for sharing, this will become part of my weekly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
This stew was really good!!! It says serves four so I doubled the recipe because I was having people over...this was not necessary! I soaked the lentils before I cooked them because that's what I always do,but that wasn't necessary either. I ended up with a lot of soup instead of stew, but the flavor was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
In all fairness, this was my first recipe using lentils so this may impact my review on this dish. It smelled great simmering, but the taste was not so good. I followed the recipe as stated except for subbing canned drained tomatoes for the fresh. I also scaled the recipe to 2 servings but it still made a ton! It easy could have been 5 servings. Way too many lentils in this dish. Even with all the interesting ingredients it had a bland taste. I ate 1/2 bowl and knew my kids wouldn't touch it, so I threw it out (first time for a recipe from here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States