Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent. I used a can of stewed tomatoes, plus a fresh one, and recalculated the recipes for 6 servings. After the other good reviews, I felt 4 servings would not be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS STEW!!! I was looking for something quick and simple and warming, and this fit the bill to a T! I adde cubed potatoe and a tsp of chili powder for some kick, and it came out absolutely perfect, served over steamed rice with a grilled chicken breast. My husband actually stopped watching the football match for a full 30 seconds to tell me how delicious it was, and if you knew my husband and his obssession with football, you would know what a compliment this is! Thanks so much Frank, this one is going to be a new favourite in my recipe box! I'd give it a 10 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very nice recipe. The one ingredient that will make or break this recipe is the BBQ sauce used. I've made this with both a sweet sauce and spicy, and it comes out as entirely different taste (both VG). Not bad on the health numbers either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe. I LOVE lentils and wanted to try something different than my usual Curry Lentils. Love the sweetness that the BBQ sauce and apple bring balanced by the garlic and onion. Will make again! I did cook my veggies and fruit until they were soft and used chicken stock b/c I had no veg. bullion, but besides that...didn't really change. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I didn't change a thing. The flavors blended so beautifully together it was a delight to my tastebuds. This is a great "warm your tummy stew", even though I'm in South America and it's summer here! Went very well with Honey Corn Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Senoia, Georgia, USA
Living In: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I'm always looking for ways to make healthy, fresh produce without sacrificing flavor. This unlikely combination of ingredients is a delightful surprise. The aroma lured my neighbor into my house to find out what I was cooking, and he ended up taking some home to his family. I brought it into work the next day, and everyone who sampled it asked for the recipe. It keeps well, so doubling the recipe guarantees you a good supply without losing any of the flavor. I actually think this is one of those recipes that tastes better after the ingredients have had some time to blend, so plan to have leftovers. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I wanted to try this recipe as the additions of an apple & barbeque sauce sounded interesting. My main suggestion is to add less barbeque sauce & increase it according to your personal taste. It's much easier to add more than to try to dilute an ingredient that's overwhelming. Anyway, I only added 1/8 cup of barbeque sauce & that was plenty for my family. I substituted 32 oz. chicken broth for the water, omitted the vegetable boulllion, added diced celery, & substituted a can of petite diced tomatoes for the fresh ones as I had that on hand. I added the carrots with the lentils & cooked the soup for longer than it said. The last thing I did was to add the peas at the end of the cooking time as I didn't want them to get too mushy. Next time, I'll use an entire bag of Goya lentils, double the recipe, & freeze some containers of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This dish is one of my favorites because it's a lot better after its been in the fridge for at least a day. It's good for making big batches and then eating leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
im not giving 5stars simply because i modified the recipe slightly for my taste. i used half the apple and added a small diced potato instead of the whole apple plus i fried the onion and garlic and potato before adding the lentils, water and cube. this stew was absolutely terrific! no it wasnt watery like a soup. i just cooked it a little longer until i got the consistency i wanted - about 10mins extra. served it with fresh crusty bread and my family loved every bit of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very yummy and easy to make. We added some of our favorite spices (cumin, oregano, basil, red pepper) just because we like our food flavorful. Our biggest recommendation is to eat this with RYE BREAD. They go perfectly together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States