Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
It was good, but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good. I added sweet potato and apple with the lentils for softer texture. I used 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and 8.5 oz cans of carrots, peas and corn to save on prep time. The broth was very liquid like, but I added some water with cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I aslo used a beef bullion because I thought it would work better with the Kraft Brown Sugar Thick and Spicy BBQ sauce I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Wonderful combination of flavors...and lentils are sooo good for you, but don't tell the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Carr
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Too much BBQ sauce. Took over dish, maybe a TBS next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not too shabby for a low-fat, low-cal meal. I used chicken broth instead of the water/bouillon combo, and corn instead of peas. Otherwise I made exactly as is. Interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Pretty good when we started eating it, but the sweetness got to be too much after a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I absolutely love this stew! I am on a no sodium diet, I make my own barbeque sauce (sodium free), so this makes a delicious and salt free meal for me. I only had one substitution - I use a packet of Herb Ox beef bouillon instead of vegetable bouillon. The combination of flavors is delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Oh wow, this stew is unbelievably yum. I just made it today and can't stop eating it! Definitely going into my most favourite recipes file. Gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I really like the combination of flavours that's here, but as written it's a little bland. I ended up adding some cayenne pepper for heat, a splash of balsamic vinegar and some additional bbq sauce and paprika. After these additions it tasted wonderful and even better the next day. Next time I make this I'm going to add more veggies and apple and maybe throw in a potato as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I added chicken andouille sausage from Trader Joes and the spice was a perfect compliment to the sweetness of the apples and carrots. One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States