Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a unique combination of sweet and tangy flavors. We loved it! I followed the recipe as directed except for one thing. Instead of plain salt I used my homemade verision of seasoned salt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
A meat-less dish from Argentina? I was a skeptic until I tried this recipe. My dad is from Argentina and is curious about the actual origin but I am sold! I made this for an international pot luck at our office during the last world cup and everyone loved it. I have been hooked ever since. I of course lie to add some extra spice to keep things interesting. I like to make a big pot of it and eat lots of leftovers, I think it's even better after a good marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
It was awesome. I added a green beans, bay leaf, some cumin, a little cayenne, and some red pepper flakes to bring out more awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is delicious, warming, filling. A good mix of sweet, spicy and savory. The leftovers were even better. It was the first time I have ever cooked with lentils, so I was a little nervous, but shouldn't have been. If you are a first timer, remember to sort them and rinse them first, and you are good to go. Just some really minor changes/subs: Scaled to six servings. Used canned diced tomatoes (no good fresh ones at the market.) Used a bit of house seasoning with garlic when I realized too late (oops!) that I was out of garlic. Put the carrots in at the beginning of cooking, because some family members like a softer texture. Let my husband put the paprika in, and his "eyeballing" is a little off, so we ended up with a good bit more than what it called for. Didn't add salt. Everything else as written. Since the bbq sauce used probably plays a part in the flavor, I will say I used bulls-eye kansas city sauce. Along the same lines, my bouillon brand is Vegeta. The apple I used was a Braeburn, and the texture after cooking was perfect. Hope that helps someone out there! On a more personal note: Earned rave reviews from my 10 year old who is the pickiest eater ever. We often struggle with getting him to try new things so I was amazed at his positive reaction to it. Everyone else loved it as well: My adventurous eating 4 year old, my veggie husband, my dad who is trying to eat healthier, and myself of course. Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My wife is from Argentina and didnt recall having this stew, but we all liked it, including my kids! Nice and hearty, very filling. I actually served this with some pigs n a blanket and it was a great meal combo. The only thing I might do different is use some bacon grease to saute the onion in, just to add some more complexity to it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ched Bread

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was my first time cooking with Lentils and I picked a winning recipe - this was amazing! I stuck to the recipe as it is, with the exception of making it for 6 servings rather than 4. I forgot to add the frozen peas, but otherwise it was awesome! My husband loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I used Annie's Naturals Smoky Maple BBQ and smoked paprika and it was unbelievable! The kids ate extra helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Super delicious! I've been looking for a good lentil recipe. I saved this one a couple years ago. Its a shame that I didn't try it until now!!! I didn't have 3 fresh tomatoes, so I tossed in some canned diced tomatoes I had sitting around...probably didn't add quite enough (12 ounces) to compensate for 3 tomatoes. Also I liked the suggestion to throw the carrots in with the lentils. The recipe didn't clarify whether to cook it uncovered or with the lid on. I chose to cook it uncovered for the first 20 mins. If I do it again, I will put the lid on the entire time, I think too much heat escaped. Also, I loved the suggestion to add some more spices, so I put 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper, cumin, oregono, basil, 1 bay leaf, and a few rosemary springs. This turned out very savory!! It truly is way too easy for how delicious it is!! Having lived in Argentina for a while, I wonder about adding some spiced sausage (Argentine chorizo-not the Mexican kind) to the recipe and maybe some chunks of beef. The Argentine lentil soups/stews I had while I was there are some of the tastiest I've ever had. I wish there were more Argentine recipes on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Although I usually follow a recipe to a T the first time I make it, I improvised this one from the start. I used a whole 16-oz. bag of dried lentils and increased the seasonings accordingly, added two more carrots and another cup of peas. I replaced the fresh tomatoes with a can of stewed roasted. It filled my 5-quart pot, which is good. Anyway, I loved this soup and can't wait to share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was skeptical of this right up until I took the first bite - I was certain it was going to be awful! I loved it, but my husband wasn't wowed...so the odd combination of ingredients does create a taste that's not for everyone. I added some chili pepper for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States