Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
MUST MAKE THIS RECIPE!!!!! I read all the great reviews as well as other recipes of Lentil Stew/Soup to compare ingredients... I decided upon this one. Of I did add/substituted a few things as my Southern Roots require a little more spice and flavor than what is listed. Does come out kinda soupy and the recipe does make a pretty decent sized pot! I added celery, onion, crushed red pepper flakes, cumin, and more garlic and black pepper than mentioned. Sauteed all those til the onion were transparent. Instead of water and boullion I used 2 small cans 14.5 oz chicken broth and 1 can of water. Simmer 20 minutes. Then I substituted can tomatoes for I huge fresh tomato diced and added diced beef kielbas sausage and a little green onion and frozen spinach... did not have any peas on hand. To make the consitency a little Stew like, i just took my Stick blender directly into the pot(I dont reccommend this unless you have done this before) and blended just a lttle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My daughter is vegan and I'm doing WW so it was a perfect blend! I did 6 servings, used veggie broth and water, as some reviewers suggested, added some cumin & cayenne pepper and extra paprika (I like lots of flavor) and didn't add any salt since the veggie broth supplied plenty. Will make this again and again. My daughters also suggested adding black beans and corn. This recipe is so versitile, you could use all sorts of veggies and spices to customize it to your tastes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
love this recipe. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very flavorful! After reading several reviews, I decided to all a LOT of extra veggies and I'm glad I did. Mine is definitely of a stew consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I thought this was pretty good and very stew-like. Easy to make, healthy and the apple was an unexpected twist. (No fresh tomatoes in the house so I substituted crushed tomatoes from a can.) I like the idea of adding sausage or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Delish!! I have been making a shorter version of this recipe for years, and my husband came up with the idea of adding bbq sauce to the finished dish. We've been eating it that way ever since! I used chicken sausage w/ apples and added a little cayenne pepper to kick it up a bit. Perfect balance of sweet, spicy and salty. Also, in placeo of broth or salt, I have used onion soup mix instead (omitting some of the chopped onion as well). We usually pair with rice or cornbread and dollop with bbq sauce. Great as leftovers, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
great flavor... the barbecue sauce and the apple mix surprisingly well with the the rest of the stew! i'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was what we would call a soup--not a stew. It was very good though and I will make it again because we like lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I had some leftover homemade applesauce (prepared with apple pie spice and brown sugar, so I omitted the BBQ sauce) that needed to be used, so I decided to try this recipe. And I'm glad I did. I used chicken boullion instead of vegetable, scallions instead of yellow onion, a can of green beans instead of the peas and a small can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. In addition, I added 3 "all purposed" potatoes and added additional spices (peppercorns, rosemary and tarragon leaves and some fresh basil). Topped it with parmesan cheese and served it with Saltine crackers. Both my husband and I liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Very tasty recipe! I like the flavors of the apple and the barbecue sauce and these ingredients add such a great taste to the stew. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States