Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This stew tastes OK (I have tasted for seasoning). However, I started cooking this on Tuesday morning and, it is now Wednesday (almost midday), and the lentils are still not soft. I have added more and more water in the hope that the lentils will absorb it but so far no luck. Can anyone explain this and tell me if I can save the dish - I hate wasting food and I can't serve this to my husband as it is; a farmer needs a decent meal in the evening!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VivM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I just love this recipe, although it's more like a soup than a stew. It's incredibly tasty, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Very good! My son requests this weekly. I make a lot and we have it for several days. Also my family is from Costa Rica, and they request this dish when they come to visit me in the States! Thank you! Healthy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have to admit, while it was cooking I was unsure of it all. It turned out wonderful. My 11 year old wanted to give it 100 stars. Only changes I made were that I doubled it, I used chicken broth (5 cans in a double batch) instead of water and vegetable boullion, and I used a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes. Hearty, tasty and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was just okay to me (more like 3.5 stars).... a little bland even after I added the additional spices suggested by other reviewers. The tasty lentil tacos recipe on this website is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Wow, this recipe is so good and a wonderful take on your regular lentil soup. I added chopped celery, doubled the garlic, used chicken stock instead of water, and substituted a 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes for fresh ones. Put in all of you vegetable at the beginning if you want them soft, which I do. The addition of cumin powder, chili powder, and a few dashes of hot sauce makes this stew just right. Purée half of the soup for a rich consistency. Reserve the peas to add during the last couple minutes of cooking. I wouldn't purée the peas. This healthy, satisfying soup is a keeper. Serve with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
MUST MAKE THIS RECIPE!!!!! I read all the great reviews as well as other recipes of Lentil Stew/Soup to compare ingredients... I decided upon this one. Of I did add/substituted a few things as my Southern Roots require a little more spice and flavor than what is listed. Does come out kinda soupy and the recipe does make a pretty decent sized pot! I added celery, onion, crushed red pepper flakes, cumin, and more garlic and black pepper than mentioned. Sauteed all those til the onion were transparent. Instead of water and boullion I used 2 small cans 14.5 oz chicken broth and 1 can of water. Simmer 20 minutes. Then I substituted can tomatoes for I huge fresh tomato diced and added diced beef kielbas sausage and a little green onion and frozen spinach... did not have any peas on hand. To make the consitency a little Stew like, i just took my Stick blender directly into the pot(I dont reccommend this unless you have done this before) and blended just a lttle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was awesome. My daughter is vegan and I'm doing WW so it was a perfect blend! I did 6 servings, used veggie broth and water, as some reviewers suggested, added some cumin & cayenne pepper and extra paprika (I like lots of flavor) and didn't add any salt since the veggie broth supplied plenty. Will make this again and again. My daughters also suggested adding black beans and corn. This recipe is so versitile, you could use all sorts of veggies and spices to customize it to your tastes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
love this recipe. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Very flavorful! After reading several reviews, I decided to all a LOT of extra veggies and I'm glad I did. Mine is definitely of a stew consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States