Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
It was awesome. I added a green beans, bay leaf, some cumin, a little cayenne, and some red pepper flakes to bring out more awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This is delicious, warming, filling. A good mix of sweet, spicy and savory. The leftovers were even better. It was the first time I have ever cooked with lentils, so I was a little nervous, but shouldn't have been. If you are a first timer, remember to sort them and rinse them first, and you are good to go. Just some really minor changes/subs: Scaled to six servings. Used canned diced tomatoes (no good fresh ones at the market.) Used a bit of house seasoning with garlic when I realized too late (oops!) that I was out of garlic. Put the carrots in at the beginning of cooking, because some family members like a softer texture. Let my husband put the paprika in, and his "eyeballing" is a little off, so we ended up with a good bit more than what it called for. Didn't add salt. Everything else as written. Since the bbq sauce used probably plays a part in the flavor, I will say I used bulls-eye kansas city sauce. Along the same lines, my bouillon brand is Vegeta. The apple I used was a Braeburn, and the texture after cooking was perfect. Hope that helps someone out there! On a more personal note: Earned rave reviews from my 10 year old who is the pickiest eater ever. We often struggle with getting him to try new things so I was amazed at his positive reaction to it. Everyone else loved it as well: My adventurous eating 4 year old, my veggie husband, my dad who is trying to eat healthier, and myself of course. Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My wife is from Argentina and didnt recall having this stew, but we all liked it, including my kids! Nice and hearty, very filling. I actually served this with some pigs n a blanket and it was a great meal combo. The only thing I might do different is use some bacon grease to saute the onion in, just to add some more complexity to it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ched Bread

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was my first time cooking with Lentils and I picked a winning recipe - this was amazing! I stuck to the recipe as it is, with the exception of making it for 6 servings rather than 4. I forgot to add the frozen peas, but otherwise it was awesome! My husband loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I used Annie's Naturals Smoky Maple BBQ and smoked paprika and it was unbelievable! The kids ate extra helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Super delicious! I've been looking for a good lentil recipe. I saved this one a couple years ago. Its a shame that I didn't try it until now!!! I didn't have 3 fresh tomatoes, so I tossed in some canned diced tomatoes I had sitting around...probably didn't add quite enough (12 ounces) to compensate for 3 tomatoes. Also I liked the suggestion to throw the carrots in with the lentils. The recipe didn't clarify whether to cook it uncovered or with the lid on. I chose to cook it uncovered for the first 20 mins. If I do it again, I will put the lid on the entire time, I think too much heat escaped. Also, I loved the suggestion to add some more spices, so I put 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper, cumin, oregono, basil, 1 bay leaf, and a few rosemary springs. This turned out very savory!! It truly is way too easy for how delicious it is!! Having lived in Argentina for a while, I wonder about adding some spiced sausage (Argentine chorizo-not the Mexican kind) to the recipe and maybe some chunks of beef. The Argentine lentil soups/stews I had while I was there are some of the tastiest I've ever had. I wish there were more Argentine recipes on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Although I usually follow a recipe to a T the first time I make it, I improvised this one from the start. I used a whole 16-oz. bag of dried lentils and increased the seasonings accordingly, added two more carrots and another cup of peas. I replaced the fresh tomatoes with a can of stewed roasted. It filled my 5-quart pot, which is good. Anyway, I loved this soup and can't wait to share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I was skeptical of this right up until I took the first bite - I was certain it was going to be awful! I loved it, but my husband wasn't wowed...so the odd combination of ingredients does create a taste that's not for everyone. I added some chili pepper for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I'm giving this three stars because it was four star quality the way that I made it but since I made a few changes I'm deducting a star. I added a bay leaf and some fresh rosemary to the lentils at the start. I also sauteed the onions and garlic before adding them. I added some dried oregano and cayenne pepper for a little extra flavor. And lastly, I pureed about one third of the soup to make it a little thicker. Lovely recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
It is pretty good. I made some changes based on the ingredients I had available. I used a can of beef broth as part of the qt water. Can of green beans instead of peas. A bit more of the bbq sauce. A bit more of the paprika. And you will need salt and pepper for taste. After i added all the ingredients and let it simmer for 20 minutes...hhmmmm....nope, not enough time. So i put on boiling for 10 minutes and then turned the stove off. Very good. I'd make it again. I was a bit afraid of using the apple, but it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States