Argentine Lentil Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made one and a half batches and I'm glad I did. It is really good. My son has eaten two large bowls already. Thank you for sharing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I liked the recipe-very unique, but made a few changes based on reviews. I used Chicken stock vs. water and vegetable boullion. I also used a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh--its winter and I can't get "good" fresh tomatoes. For the BBQ sauce I used "Bob's BBQ Sauce" on this site. It is a simple sweet sauce. I added "Liquid Smoke" for a "Smokey" flavor in a bbq sauce-I used 1/2 cup. I added the carrots and celery with the lentils and also small diced potato. I did spices--1/4 tsp cumin, oregano, italian seasonings. I waited until the end to add the peas. After tasting the broth I decided to take another reviewer's recommendation and added about 1 Tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. I really liked that addition. I did simmer this on low longer than to get the apples softer, but it may have been the temperature setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very tasty! Thanks for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is nice. I replaced the apples for potatoes and used spicy BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really liked the apple in this stew; it added a nice flavor to it, especially when combined with the BBQ sauce. It's great that it's also super easy to make, and with ingredients that I typically have hanging around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Tasty and easy to make. Great for adding all those little extras you have in the fridge. I made mine with french lentils and added potatoes, celery, and golden beets. Half of the BBQ sauce is more than enough. Bay leaves and a rosemary sprig for a herby flavor (removed at the end).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Barbecue sauce in soup turned out to be a little strange. We all ate it, and it was o.k., but I wouldn't make it again. I would definitely put the carrots, onions, apples, and tomatoes in at the beginning so they get soft (the apple was still a little crunchy after 20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I would give this 10 stars if they offered the option!! This stew is the best stew I have ever had!! It is almost like there is meat in there but there isn't. The unique combination of the ingredients just awakens the taste buds! Amazing recipe, this is going on my favorite foods list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a unique combination of sweet and tangy flavors. We loved it! I followed the recipe as directed except for one thing. Instead of plain salt I used my homemade verision of seasoned salt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
A meat-less dish from Argentina? I was a skeptic until I tried this recipe. My dad is from Argentina and is curious about the actual origin but I am sold! I made this for an international pot luck at our office during the last world cup and everyone loved it. I have been hooked ever since. I of course lie to add some extra spice to keep things interesting. I like to make a big pot of it and eat lots of leftovers, I think it's even better after a good marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States