Arangini (Italian Rice Balls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Great snack! Although it seems a bit complicated with all the steps, the reward after all the work is definitly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I've been looking for this recipe everywhere! Thanks so much! These are just like my Nonna's, except she put peas in the middle of hers and occasionally a bit of ground beef or lamb instead of the prosciutto. I made my rice balls pretty large, and molded them into a bell shape like my Nonna's. Delicious! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
While I'm sure that this recipe is great as written, there are a few "technical" things that I want to clear up. It is really known as arancini and should be made first as a risotto and then the cold leftovers used to make the rice balls with a variety of fillings, including mozzarella, ground beef or lamb, proscuitto, peas and swiss cheese. Really great, Roman style street food or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
So good!!! My Fiance has a big Italian family and they were blown away at how good these were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This recipe tasted great! I did however have problems getting the balls to stick together. I would imagine that it was because I made the rice the day before and refridgerated it overnight. I also used some Hickory smoked honey ham instead of prosciutto and it was great. Very different. Served it for a large group and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SABRINAWRIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
absolutely divine - can't go wrong with following this recipe to the letter. It is time consuming - but well worth the effort and would be sure to impress! The rice took at least 30 min to cool before I could proceed with the next step, so make sure you get the rice happening before you do anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Perfect, though I've never seen this spelling of the name - usually its arancini. Still, thanks for the recipe. Spectactular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Seemed like a lot of work, and I was so frustrated. But, when I tasted it I forgot about it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Everyone LOVED LOVED LOVED these. Don't change a thing. PERFECT. Very authentic italian and unique!! I will definately make these again, although a little bit of work required!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made these along with a bunch of other meditteranean type appetizers for an outdoor jazz concert and they were to die for. The only thing I changed was that I omitted the egg whites before rolling them in bread crumbs. They are already plenty sticky and did not need it, plus the eggwhites mostly get left in the bread crumb dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roo 7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States