Arangini (Italian Rice Balls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
While I'm sure that this recipe is great as written, there are a few "technical" things that I want to clear up. It is really known as arancini and should be made first as a risotto and then the cold leftovers used to make the rice balls with a variety of fillings, including mozzarella, ground beef or lamb, proscuitto, peas and swiss cheese. Really great, Roman style street food or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
absolutely divine - can't go wrong with following this recipe to the letter. It is time consuming - but well worth the effort and would be sure to impress! The rice took at least 30 min to cool before I could proceed with the next step, so make sure you get the rice happening before you do anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I've been looking for this recipe everywhere! Thanks so much! These are just like my Nonna's, except she put peas in the middle of hers and occasionally a bit of ground beef or lamb instead of the prosciutto. I made my rice balls pretty large, and molded them into a bell shape like my Nonna's. Delicious! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Excellent! I have tried rice balls before and I do believe the secret to this one is that there are only egg whites in the mixture and then as coating...keeping the little nuggets all together when cooking. Easy, faster than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made these along with a bunch of other meditteranean type appetizers for an outdoor jazz concert and they were to die for. The only thing I changed was that I omitted the egg whites before rolling them in bread crumbs. They are already plenty sticky and did not need it, plus the eggwhites mostly get left in the bread crumb dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roo 7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These were wonderful, I get asked to make these on a near-daily basis for the bar I cater for. I recommend roughly shredding the mozzarella cheese instead of dicing it, and adding salt, pepper, dried basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, paprika, garlic powder, coriander, etc. etc., in small amounts to the breadcrumbs to give the coating a special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Like Nonna's except no saffron in the rice which gives it a different flavor and definately with rissotto rather than reg white or long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was okay but not great. We liked all of the ingredients but they didn't have that "wow!" factor when combined in this dish. It was kind of difficult to put together and not really worth the effort. If we make it again, we'll change it, adding more garlic, parmesan, black pepper, etc.--more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I LOVE rice balls and was so excited when i saw this recipe. i adjusted this to my taste and it came out yummy. I put mozzarella cheese in the middle of this and it came out so good. I think i will put chicken in the middle next time and dip in marinara sauce. thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I had my doubts but these came out really good. A lot of work, but if you make enough of them at a time it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shell516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States