Arangini (Italian Rice Balls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Excellent! I have tried rice balls before and I do believe the secret to this one is that there are only egg whites in the mixture and then as coating...keeping the little nuggets all together when cooking. Easy, faster than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Like Nonna's except no saffron in the rice which gives it a different flavor and definately with rissotto rather than reg white or long grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These were wonderful, I get asked to make these on a near-daily basis for the bar I cater for. I recommend roughly shredding the mozzarella cheese instead of dicing it, and adding salt, pepper, dried basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, paprika, garlic powder, coriander, etc. etc., in small amounts to the breadcrumbs to give the coating a special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made these along with a bunch of other meditteranean type appetizers for an outdoor jazz concert and they were to die for. The only thing I changed was that I omitted the egg whites before rolling them in bread crumbs. They are already plenty sticky and did not need it, plus the eggwhites mostly get left in the bread crumb dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roo 7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Make these as an appetizer for a family birthday party (a big Italian family) and they loved them!!! Got asked for the recipe several times before leaving the party - only negative is they can taste a bit salty due to the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbshop
Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Followed recipe exactly and , well, they were ok, I guess. Seemed bland and definitely not worth the effort. BF and I doused in marinara to add some flavor. Perhaps I will try again and add some spices (cayenne and lots of pepper) to help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Very tasty, but VERY time-consuming. However, my husband and I made this together, and it was fun. We each had four as a main dish, with Panzanella Salad (recipe from this site) on the side and some crusty bread. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Everyone LOVED LOVED LOVED these. Don't change a thing. PERFECT. Very authentic italian and unique!! I will definately make these again, although a little bit of work required!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Seemed like a lot of work, and I was so frustrated. But, when I tasted it I forgot about it. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States