April's Roasted Red Pepper Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was really a snap to put together. I know the recipe calls for chopping the red peppers and adding at the end, but to hide them from my children (who wouldn't eat this if they saw peppers) I dumped all the ingrediens (except parsley) in the food processor. The taste is wonderful, it reminded me of the pimento cheese spread thats so wonderful and costly... ALL my kids loved this and I can see this would be equally delicious rolled in chopped pecans. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is a good cheese ball. After I added all listed ingredients (Except the nuts to roll the ball in) I found something lacking. There was no Zip. So I added 1/2 teaspoon of Dijon Mustard. WOW What a great difference. That is why I am giving this recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
The only one of its kind on this site and it's magnifico! I'm surprised more people haven't tried this. Previous reviewers are right; it's better with increased amounts of cayenne, garlic, and my own personal preference, a touch more Worchestershire sauce. I also took the advice from the reviewer who added some dijonnaise. I added about a teaspoon. I let my food processor do the work and found that it was much easier to form into a more presentable ball after it had been chilled for at least an hour. Then, I coated it in slivered almonds and it looked soooooo beautiful! The almonds helped with the ball formation as I was coating it; it provided a "wall" of sorts, holding everything together. Thanks so much for the recipe - I can't wait to serve it tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Per another reviewer's suggestion, I added 2 tsp of the roasted red pepper juice. I tried the dip before and after adding the juice, and I definitely recommend adding it! In fact, I will add 1 T or more next time. Like others, I threw everything in the food processor and pulsed until smooth. I got many many compliments, and even a couple of requests for the recipe! I wasn't a huge fan of the fresh parsley, though...my suggestion is to either chop it SUPER fine, or to use nuts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was a real hit at work, and it's great spread on a tortilla, rolled up and cut like pinwheels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I made this for an anniversary party and had lots of great comments about it! I didn't have cayenne pepper on hand, so I used a couple of dashes of Tabasco. I also used the shredded Mexican 4-cheese blend (my personal fav) instead of shredded Cheddar. This has a taste similar to pimiento cheese, so to make sure it had more of a cheese ball taste, I added a little minced onion, seasoned salt, and large spoonful of Dijonaise (Dijon mayo-blend). I'd refrigerate overnight to ensure the flavors meld. It's such a pretty cheese ball, next time I might not roll in nuts or parsley! The recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was delicious!!! I pretty much doubled all of the spices though - you can basically just test it and keep adding spices to suit your taste. Served w/ Wheat Thins crips (garden veggie flavor) and Trader Joe's everything crackers. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Wonderfully easy recipe! I "borrowed" from other reviewer's comments and doubled the amount of spices, added 2 tsp. of the pepper juice, and rolled the ball in chopped pecans. Next time, I'll roll it in parsley and the nuts. Try to make this the night before so that all the flavors can combine overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This cheese ball's red and green colors make it perfect for the holidays...I made it for a Christmas Eve party and it was a hit. Use light cream cheese to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Lovely cheese ball! I have made this several times and almost always someone asks me for the recipe. It makes a very big recipe, so my tip is to make it around the holidays, and divide it into two balls. Then take one to the office party and one to the family or friend get-together. The green parsley and red pepper make a great seasonal combination! Oh, and I always use chopped garlic instead of powdered. I gives it a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbalpath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Pepper Cheese Ball on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes make a top-rated cheese ball on the Better Show.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States