April's Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
As with others, I used basmati rice and added the peas. One hint for getting the rice to brown: after cooking it (I use a steamer), allow the rice to cool completely before frying it. I found this technique in another fried rice recipe and it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
One of the best things about fried rice is there is no wrong way of making it. You can pretty much put whatever you want in it. I always use Peas, carrots, and onions for my veggies. And whatever meat i have on hand.. Diced ham is always good, or shrimp. chicken, Or whatever meat you have left over, and eggs of course. It always turns out best if the rice is @ room temp. when cooking.Prevents it from getting mooshy on you. Even letting the rice set overnight.I always use a lil bit of soy sauce and salt as well.I have experimented with diff. grains of rice. I find that the short sticky rice, set at room temp. works the best. Unless you like the "fall apart" type of fried rice, then use long grain. The choice is yours :)Have fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This fried rice was awesome! I served it with General Tsaos Chicken, so I ommited the chicken and mushrooms. The frying of the rice is an exercise in PATIENCE. It takes quite a while, and you may have to add more butter. Using white rice that has been refridgerated for 24 hours is key! Also, we used 4 eggs, 'cause we like them. I mixed them up in a bowl and poured them directly over the rice during the end of cooking/frying. Perfect! My brother is from NYC and said it was just as good as any take out in the city!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This was bland.It needs a lot of help.Too much rice and not enough of other ingredients.I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
A perfectly pleasant fried rice dish. I marinated my chicken for about a hour in a soy sauce mixture (with some other Asian flavorings added in: garlic, ginger, sesame oil, etc.), which gave the chicken a nice flavor. Oh, and like other reviewers, I needed substantially more than a tablespoon of soy sauce at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Try making the rice ahead, and refrigerating it - it gets to soft if it isnt chilled first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
After adding real bacon bits, peas,a little freshly grated ginger, a little more soy sauce, and eliminating the mushrooms, this rice was pretty good. Thanks April.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is a great base recipe. I've made it a few times now and always add something different. I've tried water chestnuts, peas, salad shrimp, even bacon bits. I haven't come up with the perfect fried rice recipe yet but when I do, this recipe will be my base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Too much rice, not enough other stuff. Reduce the rice by half and add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
I would skip this recipe. It is very bland, needs a lot of additions. I added quite a bit of soy sauce, peas, and carrots. Always make sure the rice is cold before you fry it, otherwise it will be sticky. Also, the rice didn't fry very well .... it stayed way too soft - not like the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States