April's Chicken Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Both yummy and "kinda" bland. Maybe I did not follow instructions very well. My chicken was starting to boil and did not get brown. I managed to take out the liquid and use it later with the soy sauce. Smelled awesome and kid friendly. My older ones can add pepper sauce and more soy sauce to their own serving. Very helpful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
The rice turned to mush!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars not because it was perfect, but because it gave me a simple recipe to start with. Others just overwhelm me and I end up not even trying them. This gave me the basics to start with and now I can experiment with all sorts of things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Pollard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Made this yesterday. A fabulous dish, but lacking something I love in my fried rice. Whether it be Chicken, pork, beef, shrimp, etc. I need at least 2 garlic cloves (8 servings) in my fried rice. I also cooked my rice 6-8 hours prior to meshing the dish together. I like my rice a bit sticky but trying to brown it right out of the saucepan is tough for me (moderate experience.) I like to brown my rice after its been cooked for awhile, no longer steaming is my general rule. Other than those to slight mods. I give this a 4 star and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat McCune

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
It was okay at best. Very bland, way too much rice, vegetables were way to crunchy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I am only giving this 3 stars because I made many of the changes suggested by others. I did marinate this chicken before cooking in soy sauce, garlic and ginger. I added an extra egg because 2 didn't look like enough. I also added peas and diced carrots which I only briefly steamed so they would be crunchy still. I did let the rice cool after cooking as so many stated and I think it made all the difference- I've had many unsuccessful attempts with fried rice before. I had to use way more soy sauce than stated in the recipe, and my husband was still adding more to his helping. Lastly, I used canola oil instead of butter, which I needed more than stated in recipe, to get rice to brown. With the changes I made we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Super great recipe. Like how fast and easy it is. Just what I was looking for. Changed a few things to make up for a few ingredients I didn't have on hand the first time, still turned out good. Second time, closer to recipe, and even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I just prepared this meal tonight and it was a hit! I chilled the rice before frying it so it wouldn't too soft and I added chopped brocolli instead of mushrooms and green onions. It was delicious! Thanks for this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I reallyyy didn't care for this. If were to try again I would cook teh rice in advance and let sit in the fridge so that when time to cook it, it doesn't clump together in a sticky mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was a hit with the youngest, so I would definitely make it again. I used leftover basmati rice that had cooled in the fridge overnight and added peas (frozen, but slowly sauteed over medium heat for inclusion). I also used bottled mushrooms that I had washed, dried and then seared before also adding in the end step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States