Apricot/Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
WOW! This came out great. Followed the recipe to the letter. However, Do not make the mistake I did and turn the heat up to fast at the begining. Start off at a simmer and end with a simmer. Otherwise you will burn the Mix. This dish moves fast so stay close to the oventop. Second try was a Major success. It came out wonderful and My kids ate it like candy. Grandma keeps pounding me for the recipe, of course I gave her the web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This recipe had way too much of a strong vinager taste and I measured it exactly. I would recommend less and maybe some kind of substitution. I tried it for Christmas Eve dinner and no one enjoyed it. We are all very honest. This WILL NOT be made again here unless I find an acceptable substitution for the viagar...It was just over powering and I made it the day before and let it sit overnight like recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Loved this! I increased the sugar a bit, and if I made it again, I'd reduce the vinegar. I also cooked it until the cranberries popped, which was a little longer than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
What a great idea and change from the traditional cranberry sauce. I followed this recipe exactly except I added more apricots since the standard package size is 6oz which is more than 1/4 cup. I tossed in the whole package because I didn't think I'd use them in the near future for anything else! I think it made it all the better. Now, if only I could think of a way to use this recipe other than on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
WOW. I've tried several "whole-cranberry" sauces over the years (in an attempt not to serve can-shaped cranberry sauce) but this one is by far the best! The apricots and raisins give the tart cranberries just enough sweetness. This will be on my Thanksgiving menu from now on!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty. The exotic flavor had everyone using this insted of canned cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I don't know what I did wrong, but this recipe came out VERY TART. I had to add a splash of orange juice after it was done to cut it. Now its very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I have made this twice now, both times using dried peaches instead of the apricots. The second time, I substituted granny smith apple for the raisins -- fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
WOW!! My husband, who hates cranberry sauce, found a million ways to use this after our Thanksgiving dinner. We've had it on top of baked chicken, in wraps with turkey, chopped apples and lettuce, on roast beef sandwiches, and in various other dishes. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Made it as shown, but threw in a bit (1/4 c ttl) of diced dried candied pineapple and dried candied papaya for a bit of colour,texture. Terrific recipe! Nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States