Apricot/Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My grocery store didn't have fresh cranberries, so I substituted plums instead. Definitely a different (and sweeter) taste than was intended, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great chutney! Yes, it's a bit tarty so I will reduce to 1/4 cup cider vinegar (as suggested) and add 1 tbsp. more of sugar. I added the zest of one orange. Yummy!!! Going to make it again for Christmas. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
For my family's Christmas dinner, this was a HUUUGE hit. I made a standing rib roast, and this chutney was just fabulous with the juicy beef. I have never heard so many "mmmm"s at the dinner table in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
made this for Christmas dinner...I agree with another reviewer that cider vinegar was a bit over powering...will make again using a bit less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Definitely reduce the amount of vinegar to about 2 Tbsp. The tanginess will mellow as it sits in the fridge but 2 Tbsp. is plenty. I omitted the raisins and added a peeled, diced apple. For the spices I used 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of cloves. Pumpkin pie spice contains the spices listed and it's a little easier since it's all in one. I stirred in some chopped waluts just before serving. The result was really good. A bit different from traditional cranberry sauce. It will be really good on turkey sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My family loves this. I get ordered to make it every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is a nice recipe with the exception of the vinegar. I followed the recipe to the letter - but next time I will either omit the vinegar and substitute some lemon juice, or cut the vinegar in half. Good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
so yummmy, I love this when it is hot, but it is good cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Fabulous! I served this over baked brie and heard nothing but oohs and ahhs. I mixed some left over chutney in my bowl of oatmeal the next morning- definately something to try. Thanks for sharing! Will add this to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
A very delicious cranberry sauce, and easy to make. I used a whole cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon, which I removed at the end, and also added a bit of nutmeg. Didn't have any raisins on hand so I just added more dried apricots. I also added only about 1/4 cup raspberry vinegar instead of the called for amount and added a bit more sugar, it turned out perfectly and was loved by all. This is definitely a keeper and I'll be making this again next time we have a roast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States