Apricot/Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is one of the first recipes I'd ever saved to my recipe box, years ago, when I first discovered Allrecipes. I make it every year at Thanksgiving. My family requests it because it is fabulous! It looks beautiful served in a crystal or glass bowl with a scalloped spoon. YOU'LL NEVER GO BACK TO CANNED CRANBERRIES AGAIN! Oh yes, I always use less vinegar, just a 1/4 cup. (Very important!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARONE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This is a simple recipe that will last for days. Great presentation and really compliments pork. Nice tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Redchucks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherbg
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I am the person who posted this recipe.. per others' reviews, I now cut down on the Vinegar. I made the chutney this week, and this time I added orange rind, 1 teaspoon fresh orange juice, chopped dried cherries, and chopped pecans, and I think that it is even better! So glad that many people like this, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherbg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I make this every year and the family loves it! It is a little vinegary, but no one seems to mind. Happy thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made this at Thanksgiving according to recipe and it was a smash hit. I have been asked for the recipe since, and it has been requested for our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
good, but too much vinegar...i would cut in 1/2 next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made a few changes: used 1/4 cup vinegar instead of 1/2 cup, added 1/4 cup orange juice, and used about 1 cup of mixed dried fruit (raisins, peaches, apples, apricots). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Have been making this every year since I discovered it on the site! Everyone, including avowed cranberry-sauce haters, LOVE it! Great ideas here by others including using it on sandwiches, brie wheels, and so on. It is FANTASTIC on vanilla ice cream as well! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great recipe. I had to make 2 batches though as I think the vinegar or the amount was a misprint,combined with the tartness of the berries it was way too SOUR. Second batch, left out the vinegar. Just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My grocery store didn't have fresh cranberries, so I substituted plums instead. Definitely a different (and sweeter) taste than was intended, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States