Apricot/Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving a few weeks ago. We normally use canned whole cranberries, so this was definitely something different! Some in the family were a bit apprehensive to try it, but those that did said they enjoyed it. We could only eat a little bit though..I think it may be a bit too tangy as a side dish, so if I make again it will be as a compliment to sandwiches or roasted meat. By the way, instead of the 1/2 cup cider vinegar, I used 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar and 1/4 cup lemon juice. I think this gave it the nice rich & tart flavor it needed, but without tasting too vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
My family loved this. I cut down on the vinegar and served it with turkey and stuffed pork loin, yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
You know it's good when guest ask for the recipe. I added some chopped apples but otherwise followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Cut the vinegar to 1/4 c or less, add a bit more sugar and it would be 5 stars. Fabulous recipe, I loved all the spices. Smells like the holidays. This would be fanatstic with ham. Too bad I didn't see the reviews warning about too much vinegar before I made it, that was a disappointment. Doctoring with more sugar helped but again, use much less vinegar from the start and it should be delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I liked the texture of this but it had a very strong vinegar smell and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I'm sorry but no one in my family liked this. I served it for Thanksgiving because we are not big gravy eaters. Wanted something to go with the turkey. This combination was much too tart for us and I could taste too much of the vinegar flavor. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This chutney is great! I would lower the amount of cider vinegar used in the recipe the next time I make the chutney. The viegar was too strong for many of my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Lugo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Excellent recipe! So much better than canned cranberries, and so easy to make. Everyone that tries this has raved about it. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I've found the vinegar to be too strong as is, and my preference is to halve the amount to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is okay. I found it tasted better after a couple of days in the refridgerator. When it was first made it was very vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was an excellent alternative to traditional cranberry sauce. Definitely a keeper! I didnt have any cider vinegar on hand, so I subsituted 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, and 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice. I can't wait to make this one again for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States