Apricot/Cranberry Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
My grocery store didn't have fresh cranberries, so I substituted plums instead. Definitely a different (and sweeter) taste than was intended, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Great chutney! Yes, it's a bit tarty so I will reduce to 1/4 cup cider vinegar (as suggested) and add 1 tbsp. more of sugar. I added the zest of one orange. Yummy!!! Going to make it again for Christmas. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
For my family's Christmas dinner, this was a HUUUGE hit. I made a standing rib roast, and this chutney was just fabulous with the juicy beef. I have never heard so many "mmmm"s at the dinner table in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
made this for Christmas dinner...I agree with another reviewer that cider vinegar was a bit over powering...will make again using a bit less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Definitely reduce the amount of vinegar to about 2 Tbsp. The tanginess will mellow as it sits in the fridge but 2 Tbsp. is plenty. I omitted the raisins and added a peeled, diced apple. For the spices I used 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice and 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and a dash of cloves. Pumpkin pie spice contains the spices listed and it's a little easier since it's all in one. I stirred in some chopped waluts just before serving. The result was really good. A bit different from traditional cranberry sauce. It will be really good on turkey sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My family loves this. I get ordered to make it every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is a nice recipe with the exception of the vinegar. I followed the recipe to the letter - but next time I will either omit the vinegar and substitute some lemon juice, or cut the vinegar in half. Good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
so yummmy, I love this when it is hot, but it is good cold too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Fabulous! I served this over baked brie and heard nothing but oohs and ahhs. I mixed some left over chutney in my bowl of oatmeal the next morning- definately something to try. Thanks for sharing! Will add this to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
A very delicious cranberry sauce, and easy to make. I used a whole cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon, which I removed at the end, and also added a bit of nutmeg. Didn't have any raisins on hand so I just added more dried apricots. I also added only about 1/4 cup raspberry vinegar instead of the called for amount and added a bit more sugar, it turned out perfectly and was loved by all. This is definitely a keeper and I'll be making this again next time we have a roast dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Spiced Apple Chutney

See how to make a spiced apple sauce that blows regular apple sauce away.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States