Apricot and White Chip Cookies with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2000
Tasty. I used only once cup chips, and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I got mixed reactions for these cookies, but they were generally positive. The general consensus seemed to be that people loved them for being so different and yummy, but there is a lot going on at one time (apricots, white chips, and almonds). When I made them, I chopped up whole almonds and toasted them before mixing them into the dough, so they were super fresh. After reading some of the reviews, I tried using a cup of diced almonds, but I think if I ever make them again, I'll try to reduce it to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
A nice combination of fruit, sweet, and nut flavors. I love almonds so I used small whole ones and toasted them at 350 degrees for about 8 minutes before adding them to the dough. I also read other postings and used only 1 cup of chips. The consistency and dough-to-filling proportions of this recipe weren't to my liking in the first batch, so I upped the butter to a full cup, added an egg and increased the flour to 2 1/4 cups. this makes more substantial, slightly cakier cookies, and a whole lot more of them. my cookie-connoiseur friends don't like white chocolate much so next time I will leave out the chips and apricot and use dates for fruit AND sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
I thought this recipe had too much butter! The cookies came out kind of greasy and I don't like greasy cookies. The combination of flavors was great though and everyone enjoyed them. When I make next time I will use only 1/2 c butter. Thanks for an interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These were a huge hit in my holiday gift tins. I found that two full cups of white chocolate was way too much. The ratio of tastes worked better for me with 1 cup of chips and 1 cup of apricots. Also turned out quite nicely using dried cranberries instead of apricots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have to agree with some of the reviewer's who said there are too many chips and not enough apricots. I love apricots, so to make these again I'd double them and 1/4 the chips. Or, I'd do less sugar and 1/2 the chips along with doubling the apricots, as this dough ends up too sweet for my tastes. I even halved the white chips on this first batch--so glad I did. White chips tend to be sweet, so it's important to watch the amount you put in. Otherwise, though, these are easy and basic cookies that are worth another shot. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
They're good cookies with nice texture, but I think they're too sweet even though I cut back on the white chocolate chips. They have some crispness when they're first baked, but then become soft because of the apricots in them. I didn't like them as much after the first day simply because I prefer a crisper cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
It's hard to rate this recipe since I'm no fan of white chips - but white-chip enthusiasts will be delighted, because the dairy/vanilla chip flavor dominates the finished cookie. As an earlier reviewer mentioned, 1 cup of chips is plenty. I also used 1 c diced apricots and 1 c sliced almonds instead of the 3/4 c. called for in the recipe. The cookies were still quite sweet. Be sure your oven is not too hot - if the chips melt they make the cookies spread out and get oily. I had to be vigilant about rotating the sheets around my oven's hot spot. (This happened with Nestle chips - other brands may behave differently). This would be a good cookie for an event where other people are also bringing cookies, since it's a bit unusual yet quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a favorite of everyone. Every time I make them, I get asked for the recipe! My hubby's all time favorite cookie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These are one of my favorite cookies. All the flavors go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatManWhoCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States