Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I had never attempted to make any type of crust. This recipe is simply the best for fried pies! My mother would make fried pies for us when we were kids. The crust was simply phenomenal and so easy. I used two packages of dried apricots,as they were out of dried peaches in the store. My husband raved about how great the fried pies were. Guess this will be my "forever" recipe. Thank, Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Love the recipe. I used a deep fryer and the ready made pie crust you can get in any grocer. The pies came out so flaky if I had some icing they would have been a turnover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Followed recipe exactly, turned out great! Next time, I plan to use 1/2 Butter, 1/2 shortning. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Followed the directions exactly and this turned out better than I could imagine. The crust was super easy-flaky and delicious. Several years ago I attempted this dessert with a recipe from my boyfriends mother, with terrible results. With all the great reviews decided to give it another try with this recipe. This time my boyfriend crowed with delight and gobbled them down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These are delicious and such a change from the usual "pie" type dessert. I only used apricots, and they didn't boil down so I just put the lot in the food processor at the end to puree. Worked great. Should have made more ! I also added almond extract to the apricot paste at the end ! Thanks, this one's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I used to make fried pies years ago, I kind of forgot about them... this is the most authentic recipe and best one I have seen...How about using Buttermilk instead of milk? Or even icy water? would that make crust even flakier? a stick of cinnamon and a vanilla bean in the boiling fruit? (by the way you can do it with fresh fruits just diminish the water to cover)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Substituting more apricots and deleting the peaches with give it a more tart taste. Just like grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
i tried these with apples, and they fell apart while frying. i always get these great ideas to make doughnuts or fried pies, and i always regret it because of the mess and all the greasy food. If i were you, i would rather go to the store and buy those microwaveable mini apple pies with the glaze. They are tasty, quick, and no mess! Trust me, i would choose home-made over store bought any day so this recipe has to be disappointing for me to go to store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This is the best pie recipe ever....I even use the crust recipe for all other pies from now on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Awesome crust thank you for the recipe! Instead of regular shortening I used butter flavored shortening. mmmmm mmmm, that's all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Peach and Pancetta Pizza

A savory appetizer pizza with fresh peaches, ricotta, and pancetta.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States