Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2000
This is good flakey crust..just like Granny's...These are tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is one of the best fried pie recipes I have ever tried. I especially like the crust, because most fried pie crust isn't flaky, and this one is. I recently made them to take on a trip, and they also travel well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
This was an answer to my prayers really because when I was small I would eat my great aunt's fried peach pie's and since adulthood I could never quite get it right and even though there is the addition of apricots, the flavor is there and the texture is right on. I'm very happy with the recipe. thanks, Amber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
They were a bit too greasy for my taste, but the filling was nice. I had a hard time getting the fruit to fall apart, so I finally just cut it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
One of the recipes my Great Grandmother brought with her in a covered wagon to California was for Apricot Fried Pies. My recipe was noted that it was her Great-Great Grandmothers recipe! I have made these for years for my children and now, grandchildren. These are wonderful to take on picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
The high school football team gives these pies a big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
My Grandmother used to make these pies every Thanksgiving and Christmas and they always symbolized the holidays for me. She called them Washington Pies (probably because we are from the Mt. Vernon, VA area). She also had an applesauce filling that noone has been able to duplicate. But, not being one to have a lot of time on my hands, I have made a pretty good "quick" version of this. I use pre-made pie crusts, all natural & thick raspberry or apricot preserves, and crisco is a MUST for the frying. They assemble pretty fast which is important because as soon as you sprinkle them with powdered sugar, they disappear! I enjoyed very much Elaine's recipe and hope she doesn't mind I added mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
The BEST! What a wonderful find. I've looked everywhere for a good fried pie recipe and I found the best. Used apple pie filling that I canned this summer and can't wait to try the apricot and peach. The flakiest crust and not at all greasy. I used butter-flavored Crisco in the crust and fried in Peanut Oil. Thanks for the wonderful recipe Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Wonderful! I had to cut the dried fruit into pieces...boiling them wasn't enough. They are great with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Excellent crust, fried up great, even good the next day. Wonder if you could use this crust for regular pies that are baked? I had my own filling...I always cut up my apricots into smaller pieces. I spray a pair of sissors with vegetable spray and cut each dried apricot into 4 pieces. Place in water to cover and simmer until falling-apart tender...then I add the sugar and other seasonings. I use minute tapioca as a thickening agent. A tablespoon or two will do great. Allow to stand at room temp until cooled and the filling will thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Peach and Pancetta Pizza

A savory appetizer pizza with fresh peaches, ricotta, and pancetta.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States