Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I made 2 kinds, peach and strawberry rhubarb. I must say that the strawberry was 10X better! I followed the directions to a "T" other than cutting the dough (which I had to add about a tbsp or 2 of water to in order to get it to come together, but was then very easy to work with). I cut my pieces into about 4" squares instead of circles, filled them and then folded them in 1/2 to make triangles. They were very cute and so delicious, I will definitely make these gems again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This recipe was great!! Crust was excellent, but I rolled my crust a little thicker and made 13 pies instead of 18...and the filling was perfect...I stuff my pies a little thicker. I also used only apricots instead of the apricot/peach mixture. I dabbed a little cold water on the inside edges and it prevented the pies from opening during the fry process. Very enjoyable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The crust tasted excellent, but the pies would not stay sealed as they fried, and this sometimes caused filling to leak out, making for a splattery mess. The recipe as-is is quite nice, and I tried it with apple and blueberry filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
These pies are wonderful. As soon as I took them out of my deep fryer I sprinkled them with regular sugar. A classic recipe that store bought could never duplicate. I can imagine women a hundred years ago making these wonderful pies and their family enjoying them as much as we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
It's too bad that I can only offer five stars; I'd love to give a lot more! I now use this particular crust for EVERYTHING. I even used it for a pot pie recipe. I have made little crust "squares", baked until brown, then spreading jam on them. Yummy for sure; the family loves them. Oh...yes, I've made this recipe as it's written, and it doesn't get any better. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I was raised in TX and moved to TN a couple years ago where I was introduced to my first "homemade" fried pie. I thought Mrs. Baird's was the only person who made fried pies. I was looking for a traditional recipe, and found this one to be just that. It was easy, and tasted great. My husband, a TN native thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I've been making fried apricot pies ever since my mother in law showed me how 40 yrs ago. The crust was always a bit tricky but this is the most perfect crust for frying easy to make and handle and best tasting yet. The apricots we used came from the largest tree in Las Vegas..two stories high and at least4 ft around and probably a few decads old. The best apricots I have ever tasted grew on it. We cooked them down with sugar till we had a sweet thick puree for the pies. But I have to say using the dried fruit is supurb. I love this recipe and fry them in a deep fryer..wrap them in paper towels and put them in a shoe box in the frig..just like she showed me. Thank you so much for this great recipe. Its a real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
These were great! Next time I think I will leave out the apricots and double up on the peaches. Also used grand biscuits rolled out for convenience - a real time saver. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
My mother-in-law had the biggest apricot tree Ive ever seen in her yard in Las Vegas. It was at least 30 feet high and the trunk was hugh. Probably four feet around...they cut it down years later and put a bank where their house once stood. Vegas will never be the same! She gave me my first taste of fried pies and I was hooked. I never could make them as good as hers. She was a fantastic cook and taught me a lot. That was over 40 yrs. ago. She used a basic pie crust and fried them in an electric skillet. Mine always were pretty good but I was never satisfied with the crust. It was difficult to work with and fry. Yours is awsome. Answer to my prayers. And using the dried fruit is even better than fresh. Milk makes the crust great for frying and holds it all together giving them a great texture and flavor. I use a deep fryer and they come out crisp and not oily. I pack them in a shoe box and paper towels in the frig. Just the way she did. They don't last long. I heard these little pies originated on the covered wagon trail because they could carry dried fruit,flour and of coarse a cow. Thank you so very much for a Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I was hesitant about the large amounts of flour and etc. for the pastry but since the filling makes about 17 or eighteen of the pies, it takes that amount of pastry. They were delicious and also kept very well for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Peach and Pancetta Pizza

A savory appetizer pizza with fresh peaches, ricotta, and pancetta.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States