Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very good, used less sugar though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My husband gave these a 5 star rating. They are just like the ones his grandmother and mother made. These are definitely the way to my husbands heart. Kids scarfed them up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good. the only thing I would change is maybe trying some other dried fruits like cherries. these were good but my taste would prefer another fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
When I was five or so, my mom made these pies. I loved them. I sat on the counter next to her and watched her every move, asking questions ("why apricots AND peaches? why dried ones? why are you using milk in the crust? you don't use it when you make 'real pie!") After we moved to Hawai'i, she stopped making them; apricots and peaches--even dried ones--were quite expensive. That was more that forty-five years ago. Mom passed away ten years ago, and the recipe had been lost for decades--I thought. I've been looking for this exact recipe for years. Thanks, Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good recipe. I had a bit of trouble locating the dried peaches, and so used dried apples instead. With a little bit of orange juice mixed in with the water, as well as some cinnamon and nutmeg, these turned out great. I also tried these baked, and they worked out nicely. It may defeat the purpose of a fried pie, but if your looking for a healthier option they are just as good. Anyway, thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
The crust, of all the fried pies I have made, was the most finicky. Will not make again, but I think rolling the dough thinner would have helped and grease needs to be a bit cooler than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I made 2 kinds, peach and strawberry rhubarb. I must say that the strawberry was 10X better! I followed the directions to a "T" other than cutting the dough (which I had to add about a tbsp or 2 of water to in order to get it to come together, but was then very easy to work with). I cut my pieces into about 4" squares instead of circles, filled them and then folded them in 1/2 to make triangles. They were very cute and so delicious, I will definitely make these gems again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This recipe was great!! Crust was excellent, but I rolled my crust a little thicker and made 13 pies instead of 18...and the filling was perfect...I stuff my pies a little thicker. I also used only apricots instead of the apricot/peach mixture. I dabbed a little cold water on the inside edges and it prevented the pies from opening during the fry process. Very enjoyable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The crust tasted excellent, but the pies would not stay sealed as they fried, and this sometimes caused filling to leak out, making for a splattery mess. The recipe as-is is quite nice, and I tried it with apple and blueberry filling, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
These pies are wonderful. As soon as I took them out of my deep fryer I sprinkled them with regular sugar. A classic recipe that store bought could never duplicate. I can imagine women a hundred years ago making these wonderful pies and their family enjoying them as much as we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States