Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I've been making fried apricot pies ever since my mother in law showed me how 40 yrs ago. The crust was always a bit tricky but this is the most perfect crust for frying easy to make and handle and best tasting yet. The apricots we used came from the largest tree in Las Vegas..two stories high and at least4 ft around and probably a few decads old. The best apricots I have ever tasted grew on it. We cooked them down with sugar till we had a sweet thick puree for the pies. But I have to say using the dried fruit is supurb. I love this recipe and fry them in a deep fryer..wrap them in paper towels and put them in a shoe box in the frig..just like she showed me. Thank you so much for this great recipe. Its a real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
One of the recipes my Great Grandmother brought with her in a covered wagon to California was for Apricot Fried Pies. My recipe was noted that it was her Great-Great Grandmothers recipe! I have made these for years for my children and now, grandchildren. These are wonderful to take on picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Excellent crust, fried up great, even good the next day. Wonder if you could use this crust for regular pies that are baked? I had my own filling...I always cut up my apricots into smaller pieces. I spray a pair of sissors with vegetable spray and cut each dried apricot into 4 pieces. Place in water to cover and simmer until falling-apart tender...then I add the sugar and other seasonings. I use minute tapioca as a thickening agent. A tablespoon or two will do great. Allow to stand at room temp until cooled and the filling will thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
It's too bad that I can only offer five stars; I'd love to give a lot more! I now use this particular crust for EVERYTHING. I even used it for a pot pie recipe. I have made little crust "squares", baked until brown, then spreading jam on them. Yummy for sure; the family loves them. Oh...yes, I've made this recipe as it's written, and it doesn't get any better. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This recipe was great!! Crust was excellent, but I rolled my crust a little thicker and made 13 pies instead of 18...and the filling was perfect...I stuff my pies a little thicker. I also used only apricots instead of the apricot/peach mixture. I dabbed a little cold water on the inside edges and it prevented the pies from opening during the fry process. Very enjoyable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
My mother-in-law had the biggest apricot tree Ive ever seen in her yard in Las Vegas. It was at least 30 feet high and the trunk was hugh. Probably four feet around...they cut it down years later and put a bank where their house once stood. Vegas will never be the same! She gave me my first taste of fried pies and I was hooked. I never could make them as good as hers. She was a fantastic cook and taught me a lot. That was over 40 yrs. ago. She used a basic pie crust and fried them in an electric skillet. Mine always were pretty good but I was never satisfied with the crust. It was difficult to work with and fry. Yours is awsome. Answer to my prayers. And using the dried fruit is even better than fresh. Milk makes the crust great for frying and holds it all together giving them a great texture and flavor. I use a deep fryer and they come out crisp and not oily. I pack them in a shoe box and paper towels in the frig. Just the way she did. They don't last long. I heard these little pies originated on the covered wagon trail because they could carry dried fruit,flour and of coarse a cow. Thank you so very much for a Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is one of the best fried pie recipes I have ever tried. I especially like the crust, because most fried pie crust isn't flaky, and this one is. I recently made them to take on a trip, and they also travel well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good recipe. I had a bit of trouble locating the dried peaches, and so used dried apples instead. With a little bit of orange juice mixed in with the water, as well as some cinnamon and nutmeg, these turned out great. I also tried these baked, and they worked out nicely. It may defeat the purpose of a fried pie, but if your looking for a healthier option they are just as good. Anyway, thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
These were great! Next time I think I will leave out the apricots and double up on the peaches. Also used grand biscuits rolled out for convenience - a real time saver. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2000
This is good flakey crust..just like Granny's...These are tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

How to Make Peach Cobbler

Watch Chef John make a delicious but simple peach cobbler.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States