Apricot and Peach Fried Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Love these just the way they are. I like apricot fried pies but its hard to find really tart dried apricots. The best ones I have found are the ones that have California on the front of the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Love these! I use canned biscuit for the dough and have made them with many different fruits as well as pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
these were the closest to my Louisiana born Grandmother I've found. She didn't leave the recipe as she never measured. She stewed the dried peaches (use dried because fresh will have too much moisture), then added sugar and mashed them a bit. I used all peaches, no apricots. These are truly great, next day they're still great. Wish I'd made a hundred because people were fighting over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Fabulous! I have made these a few times now and they are still the best. I made the dough with butter flavored shortening cuz that's what I had on hand. A friend gave us fresh peaches from their tree and I wanted to use them up. I made the filling using sugar and large chunks of the peeled peaches. I did have to add cornstarch to thicken the mixture. I let the filling cool completely before adding it to the pasty. I made sure to flute the edges well. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very good, used less sugar though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
My husband gave these a 5 star rating. They are just like the ones his grandmother and mother made. These are definitely the way to my husbands heart. Kids scarfed them up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very good. the only thing I would change is maybe trying some other dried fruits like cherries. these were good but my taste would prefer another fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
When I was five or so, my mom made these pies. I loved them. I sat on the counter next to her and watched her every move, asking questions ("why apricots AND peaches? why dried ones? why are you using milk in the crust? you don't use it when you make 'real pie!") After we moved to Hawai'i, she stopped making them; apricots and peaches--even dried ones--were quite expensive. That was more that forty-five years ago. Mom passed away ten years ago, and the recipe had been lost for decades--I thought. I've been looking for this exact recipe for years. Thanks, Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good recipe. I had a bit of trouble locating the dried peaches, and so used dried apples instead. With a little bit of orange juice mixed in with the water, as well as some cinnamon and nutmeg, these turned out great. I also tried these baked, and they worked out nicely. It may defeat the purpose of a fried pie, but if your looking for a healthier option they are just as good. Anyway, thanks again for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
The crust, of all the fried pies I have made, was the most finicky. Will not make again, but I think rolling the dough thinner would have helped and grease needs to be a bit cooler than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixon, Missouri, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Peach and Pancetta Pizza

A savory appetizer pizza with fresh peaches, ricotta, and pancetta.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States